Wednesday Walk | Blue

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago


A Wednesday Walk in Blue


IMGP0431.jpeg


CategoryEveryday Life
CameraPentax K-3
LensSigma 20mm F1.8
SettingsISO 100 f/7.1 1/1400

IMGP0453.jpeg

This week's #wednesdaywalk comes from the city of Hitachi-Naka, on the east coast of Japan, about an hour north of Tokyo. Specifically, my family and I went to Hitachi Seaside Park, a large garden and amusement park that features an incredible number of flowers. Should you ever find yourself in the area, I recommend it.

The blue flowers that feature in these photos are called "nemophila" and Wikipedia tells us that the name means "woodland loving." These flowers are more commonly called "baby blue eyes" and they are a lot of fun to stroll through.

IMGP0389.jpeg

The path through the nemophila takes you up a small hill and then down the other side. As you come down, the field of blue flowers pushes right up against a field of yellow flowers, making for a stunning view.

IMGP0508.jpeg

IMGP0512.jpeg

Of course, the main thing to be learned here is - clean your lens frequently and thoroughly when shooting in windy, dusty conditions. I didn't and you can see the results in these two photos. Ah well, such is life.

In the meantime, elsewhere in the park, the tulip festival was going full swing. The park has over 200 different kinds of tulips in them and we walked through them all. (All told, I logged 16,000 steps on my Fitbit and we were only there for half a day!) This field of orange and yellow was my absolute favorite though.

I will try to post more tulip pictures this week, but for the moment, Steemit is not letting me add any more photos to this post (anything I try to add returns an error message.) In the meantime, I hope everyone is having a great week!

IMG_6924.jpeg

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

WOW those fields are amazing, Love the blues but the contrasts with the yellow fields are so nice

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk ;)

These are spectacular! The first shots with the blue flowers reminds me of Dreams by Akira Kurosawa. One of my all-time favorite movies. Absolutely stunning flower pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79