Wednesday Walk | Japanese Pear Season

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago


A Wednesday Walk Through a Japanese Pear Orchard


P1120064.jpeg


CategoryEveryday Life
CameraLumix Panasonic DMC-GX1
LensLUMIX G 20/F1.7 II
SettingsISO 160 f/1.8 1/800

Now that both the plum and cherry blossoms have gone, it's time to make way for the spring season's third incarnation of white flowers - Japanese Pears (or, nashi, in Japanese).

I knew I had a pretty full plate today, so I made myself get up and out of the house an hour early so I could stop by one of the pear farms near my house and wander around for a bit; there's something I want to bring up before I get to the rest of the photos: One of the best parts of living in Japan is that when I stop in at local farms to take pictures, the residents have always been genuinely friendly, patient, and more than willing to put up with my inane questions. That said, one reason they're happy to do so is that I exercise extreme care when on their property.

There are a couple of rules I follow. I never touch anything without permission. I never cross any boundary lines (e.g. walking into a fenced off section of land). And, most importantly, if they tell me to leave (which has never happened) or "no photos please" (which has happened a few times) I absolutely respect that and do what they say.

I want to bring this up now because I've seen a lot of posts on various social media recently where someone blatently ignores a sign or worker to stand in the middle of a delicate or dangerous environment, just to get a picture. I get it - we all want that special photo, but sometimes you just have to let opportunity go by. Especially if it means interfering with someone else's livelihood.

Sorry to rant, but I feel like it needed to be said. Anyway, on to the rest of today's photos.

P1120065.jpeg

These are the pear blossoms. The trees have to have support to grow as wide as they do, which you can see as the network of wires below the blossoms and branches.

In the photo below, you can see how much space is left between each tree trunk. It looks like it would be a fantastic place to play or picnic, but, unfortunately, the trees are a little bit too delicate for lots of that. The only time people are really allowed under the canopy is during picking season. Many farms will allow you to take as much as you can carry for only a few thousand yen. It's a good time.

P1120071.jpeg

P1120067.jpeg

Here is the same clump of flowers as above, but slightly pulled back so you can get a better sense of the spacing of the trees and the width of their branches.

P1120072.jpeg

This is the top of the branches. You can see a large, rolled-up mesh net extending from the top-right to the middle of the picture. Once the weather warms up a little more, the nets will be unrolled to protect the trees from insects, wind, and pollution.

P1120080.jpeg

Finally, elsewhere along my commute, you can find this windbreak tree (not sure what kind) outside an abandoned orchard. Unfortunately, these abandoned orchards are all too common. Young people need to head to the cities to earn a decent living and the farmers are turning into senior citizens, which makes it hard to maintain an orchard properly. That said, I'll bring you back here in a couple of months and the yellow flowers will be gone but the tree will be oh-so-green.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

What a beautiful area and lovely shots.

As for your talk about following rules in regards to going places I am like you for the most part and do not go into fenced off areas or if asked to leave I will do so, in most cases they have a valid reason for it I feel Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk it is truly appreciated and love seeing walks from all around the world

Awesome photo walk! I lo e your photos and your respect to the rules. And sorry for abandoned farms, I think it is what different countries have in common

What a delicious walk to undertake.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @misterbob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.
You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70910.93
ETH 3657.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76