You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wednesday Walk & Make Me Smile Challenge - Catching Rain & Sunflowers

in #wednesdaywalk4 years ago

Haha I was just like you. When my husband was talking about a tank I were thinking it was just a matter of plunking it there and then it started talking about leveling the ground and blah blah blah and we still haven't got a water tank because the whole thing freaked me out comma mainly because I realised how much it was going to cost me and we have only just got solar panels. How beautiful is that rain and how satisfying it must be to start filling those tanks xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

LOL I think my face must have been a picture when he started talking about leaf catchers and first flushes and visiting the hardware store again and again so we have to wait before we get more tanks! I'd love to get solar panels installed but we are looking at buying a smaller house in a retirement village in about 6 years time. They have solar panels as well as rainwater tanks. Thanks for stopping by @riverflows!

Posted using Partiko Android

I would love to know more about retirement villages. Never heard of them here in Europe. Perhaps one day you could post something about this future plan of yours to move to one.

My man and I are only in our fifties yet, but he is often in poor health, so we figure we can't start setting something up soon enough. Retirement homes (a room in a care facility) is just not right for our generation. We believe some kind of supportive, diverse and liberal minded community is the way forward. How do we envisage alternatives? It would be nice if we could pool ideas from Steemians.... My technical man is currently thinking of building container homes (as many containers joined together as one likes for a spacious bungalow or even a maisonette); but how to enthuse others (what other ingredients regards location, facilities, etc would we need to be looking at and how many of such dwellings would make for a minimum useful community?)

Let me know if you have any thoughts to share on this topic or have any links to the kind of village you are thinking of so that we can research our options further.

I will definitely do that @sukhasanasister and will tag you when I do that. Briefly it's awesome as the people there are still active but there's a clinic onsite as well as a ton of activities on offer, but will write about that soon. Thank you for asking, it is a concern for many:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61