Jungle Daily - A Wednesday Walk

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

Today I thought I would take a short walk along the back lanes close to my house. The sky looked like the sunny intervals could turn stormy quickly so I didn’t want to go too far and get drenched in a downpour!
There is always plenty to see and photograph even close to home. My first encounter was with this beautiful lineated woodpecker. He was busy stripping bark and eating the bugs that he uncovered from the branch of a tree just to to side of the lane.

7B40D887-3603-4E30-8005-E9F4FF423A9D.jpeg

There are always lots of horses around. Sometimes shut in fields but more often to be seen just wandering around the roads and on the beach.

A2C5DD78-C354-459D-BAFE-CD6CCC77393F.jpeg

They seem to be very docile and friendly.

DE16FD2E-C431-4854-AE18-9D5314D40433.jpeg

There are so many flowering plants, shrubs and trees wherever you look. Turmeric and ginger flowers are very common in people’s gardens as they are used a lot in cooking here.

7CF52179-50BA-408B-BD5B-2CA8FFFBBBA6.jpeg

Every Costa Rican adult is entitled to have a house, supplied by the government. ( Pretty cool huh? ) A standard Costa Rican government issue house is a small three room affair, and most often painted in bright colours.

D31A9717-2B5E-4CF8-9CDC-CA4467838DB0.jpeg

Costa Rican’s love fruit and flowers and gardens are always full of fruit trees, coconut palms and plenty of beautiful flowers.

5B9DFCF2-D37F-42B4-B9BC-0CB5920DC5B5.jpeg

The scent of flowers is always wafting through the air and everywhere birds are singing and butterflies are to be seen.

AC56C4B8-74E8-46A4-8BFA-47C99BC2FD2A.jpeg

I hope you enjoyed the walk and views along the way @tattoodjay, thanks for the Wednesday walk tag idea. Until the next one.....

Puravida

Sort:  

Oh i love that every Cuban is entitled for a house...every country should do that!

Thanks for stopping by and commenting, yes it is very cool and also wish all countries would do the same. Costa Rican’s not Cubans but I know that’s what you meant 😍🌈🌴🦋💛🍀

oh hahaha yes! Tiny living people would love those houses, heck i would not even mind a tree house😊

Hi Sallybeth,
Thank you for sharing your Costa Rican perspective on life ... heavenly! Great photography and reportage.

Upvoted and resteemed :D

a beautiful landscape to admire

Thanks very much it is very beautiful indeed! 🦋🌴🌈💛🍀

Aw that woodpeckers head! Such a lovely bright red:) I remember when I was living in California for a bit and there was a woodpecker every morning waking us all up haha!

Those horses are so cute and cool:) they do seem nice and calm. Lovely to see the ginger flowers too, they must smell incredible.

Cool I had no idea every Cuban is entitled to a house, how awesome! I would love to paint one lots of bright colours:) I would also love to smell the flowers 😀

Looks like you had a great fun walk! :)x

Great to read your comment. Woodpeckers are indeed lovely birds. There is one that goes to the very top of a very tall dead tree here and when he pecks the sound is loud and resonous as if someone were playing timtom’s in the garden. it defies belief almost how loud and deep and clear the noise is but I guess that’s the effect of vibrating a hollow dead tree from so high up, it truly becomes a massive drum. I should record the sound one day so you can hear exactly what I am talking about, it’s mind blowing!!
Just need to point out you said Cuban and this is Costa Rica so every COSTA RICAN is entitled to a house 😉🌈🦋💛🌴🍀

They’re so cool aren’t they, I would love to hear the sound! If you do get a chance I would love to hear it 😀 it’s surprising how loud it gets though isn’t it! From such a tiny little bird too:)

I have no idea why I wrote Cuban haha! Could have been a typo or strange correction, of course I know you are in Costa Rica 🇨🇷 ! Sorry about that :) 🌅❤️🌎

I will try and add the recording to my next jungle Journal video, it’s quite amazing!😉

This is an amazing contribution to the Wednesday walk dear Sallybeth! You are so lucky to live in such beautiful surroundings! And that wildlife!

I love that woodpecker!

Last night I got up at 1 am and checked what time it was.. I thought, let's open Steemit for a second (yes, I'm addicted, lol) and YES, there was your post! YAY! I haven't commented during the night as I couldn't keep my eyes open though :)

Thanks so much Martina. Glad you liked my walk, yes the woodpecker is a real show piece to be sure😍Haha I love how addicted you are to this place, I think we all are. People either love it or hate it.... but haters gonna hate say I 😆😆😆

My pleasure.. well, I need to cut down time I spend here a little bit as I don't have time for my real life, lol..

Thank you for getting back to me my dear friend!

Looks like a gorgeous time for a walk and beautiful animals and nature so refreshing

Thnaks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Thank you so much, I am so glad you u liked it 🌈🦋🌴💛🍀

Most welcome :)

A truly wonderful thing, the entitlement of a house. I cannot imagine how many lives would be changed if that were to be instituted by every country. I am not sure how that is managed, but, I love it, especially knowing that homelessness would essentially be wiped out.

Thank you for sharing Costa Rican life with us! I have traveled there but it was so long ago and my memories of it were mostly beach. Sadly as an 18-19 year old, my needs were mostly selfish. I wish I had taken the time to explore more of the country.

But, there is always the next time! Thank you for taking me with you!

Thanks Denise what a great comment . I think it probably works out cheaper to provide a house than spending a life time helping people pay their rent in houses they don’t own. Its is really shrewd forward thinking idea . Costa Rica is a really cool place! You really should come back for a visit! 🤗❤️🌈🌴🦋🍀

It is totally forward thinking and that is what impresses me most. Why are countries that are supposed to be leaders falling down in that department? There is a land consideration, but, seriously.... what a great idea.

I hear that Costa Rica now has better health care (in general) than the US... that is enticing enough in itself!

Don't worry!!! I will be back! Just don't leave the lights on quite yet! ;)

Hola @sallybeth23, muy bonitas fotos de paisajes en Costa Rica, de verdad, me hace recordar mi hogar. Saludos

Muchas gracias 🌈💛🍀

I love it, a beautiful way. I feel that all the stress in my job is gone when I see those views. And your picture is beautiful.

Thanks very much 🌈💛🦋🌴🍀

It's been a while since I heard the "Pura Vida" greeting! It does bring back some lovely memories from Costa Rica. Beautiful photos you have shared! I loved the one with the horse the most. Pura Vida!

Awesome thanks ! Glad that brought back some beautiful tropical moments. Sounds like you should pop down again to refresh the feelings maybe 😉
Puravida 🌴🦋🌈💛🐍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67