Wednesday walk challenge: A little walk on Paseo de Montejo

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Hello and good day, my dear steemians! I hope you're having a great week. Today I'm bringing you a post related to the Wednesday Walk Challenge, hosted by @tattoodjay. The pictures contained in this post were taken with my Motorola G6 Play yesterday on the way back home from a small educational fair. If you like to participate in this challenge, please check the rules in his latest post.

.-.-.-.

Yesterday Tuesday, my brother and I went to a small educational fair, held by an educational agency named Destiny Australia and New Zealand (Destino Australia y Nueva Zelandia). It took place in the Hyatt Regency hotel, located in Paseo de Montejo, one of the main avenues of Merida. We went and returned from that fair on foot; it took us between 20 and 25 minutes. In the trip to the hotel, we walked the entire 60th street; on the contrary, in the trip to home, we decided to walk most of Paseo de Montejo's avenue. 

Paseo de Montejo is known for its beautiful XIX century and early XX century buildings as well as a commercial area for tourist. You can find there hotels, coffee shops, ice cream stores, banks, restaurants and some government agencies.

In the Paseo de Montejo with 37th street there is a traffic roundabout in form of an obeliscus; honestly I don't know if its devoted to some historical character (my apologies for that).

.-.-.

Views of Paseo de Montejo with 37th street

The Obeliscus.

At some meters from that point, we saw a sort of art exhibition, just before reaching two of the most iconic building of the avenue: The Canton Palace, occupied as the Anthropology and History Museum, and the Twin Houses, properties of two known Yucatecan families.

A canvas from the art exhibtion

The Canton Palace

The Twin Houses

Walking some more meters, we reach to the beginning of the avenue; there, in a traffic roundabout, there is a statue devoted to Yucatan's conquerors and founders of Merida city, Francisco de Montejo Senior and Francisco de Montejo Junior (both father and son). 

The Montejos statue

From that point, my brother and I continued to walking home.

I hope you enjoyed this little walk on Paseo de Montejo. Maybe next time I would explore Santa Anna church and market, or Santiago. I don't know where my feet would take me next time.

Have a great week!

Sort:  

Being from New Zealand I have to ask how the fair was?
What a beautiful area for a walk such interesting architecture you shared with us

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

It was a little dissapointing, to be honest. Only went two universities, both from Australia. I was shocked, because past year there were five universities, all from Australia. I don't understand why they say "Destino Australia y Nueva Zelandia". Maybe they're in the process of changing their name because of reaching agreements with New Zealand universities.

The programs offered for the two universities this year (La Trobe and ICM Sidney) were interesting, at last. Maybe I would check New Zealand's universities and see the master programs they offer.

Hugs!

That could be it Maybe next year the New Zealand Universities will be there as well or at least one of them

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @free-reign.

Thank you for the cake, @helpiecake!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87