Wednesday Walk- A Pink Walk

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

I went for a walk around the neighborhood with camera in hand and I saw pink, pink and more pink. My neighbor that lives around the corner from me saw me with camera in hand, and told me to look at her new flowers that were on the side of her house. They look like miniature pink trees.

She didn't remember the name of them and when I did some research I couldn't find the name of them either. If anyone knows about these plants, please enlighten me.

I walked two more doors down and saw another neighbor tending to her garden. I haven't seen her since the beginning of spring and I couldn't believe how bushy her Four o'clocks were. So bushy that she had to tie them up. It wasn't 4:00 yet so I could only get a photo of the closed pink flowers. These flowers are so much fun because they don't open until after 4:00 when all of the other flowers were going to sleep.

I just had to go back to take more photos when I knew the flowers would be open. It was 5:30 P.M. and they were just waking up.

Another thing I like about these is that they stay alive and well until the first frost.

Her pink Zinnias were still going strong as so was the bee. This small, black bee with blue wings is the Two-spotted Longhorn Bee; named for the spots on the legs.

Looking to the left I saw that her Never Dies were in bloom. More pink flowers! A bunch of tiny, star shaped flowers. But I was more interested in the grasshopper I saw under the flowers and the bee on top.

I told her that I missed these plants and would have to get some for my garden next spring. The next thing I knew, she cut two stems that were missing the flower heads and handed them to me. YAY! Another great thing about Never Dies is that they do not bloom until fall. I love late bloomers.

And wouldn't you know it...the sky turned pink at sunset. It was just meant to be.

Thanks for stopping by!

wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay

To find out more about #wednesdaywalk, check it out here.

All photos are my own.

Are you looking for another caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

Those first flowers are just amazing! I wish I knew the name. I enjoyed this whole post!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Aren't they something? Very different ones for sure. I am so happy that you enjoyed my walk and thanks for stopping by @violetmed. : )

The 4 o'clock flower seriously the names they come up with , well you will have to call them the 5.30 o'clock flower now 🤣 🤣 🤣

And them first flowers looks like a little pink Christmas tree so cute and beautiful no idea what they are never seen them before either.

HaHa! 5:30 o'clock it is! : )

lol..🤣 👍 🤣

Those first flowers are so cool sorry I do not know the name of them
Beautiful flowers in your walk and how nice of that neighbor to give you cuttings

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Hi @tattoodjay! @deerjay gave me the name of them: Astilbe. Cool name for cool looking flowers. : )

That is a cool name for them

Have a great weekend

Flowers are pretty, But love the bees.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yay! Where would we be without our bees? Thanks for stopping by! : )

Just need to photoshop a monarch butterfly to be pink to finish off the post :-)

Hi @whatisnew! I believe those pink flowers in the first photo are Astilbe. Looks like you had a beautiful walk and got some lovely photos! I know the last flowers as Ice plants but Never Dies fits them as they are pretty hardy. I have them in my garden but I may have to add some of those first flowers to my garden as well. 😉

Hi @deerjay! Thanks so much for the name of those flowers. : ) I have never heard of Never Dies being called Ice plants. Some plants have crazy common names. I also might be adding Astilbe too. Thanks again and hope you are having a great day! : )

You are welcome @whatisnew! Now I know them as both..lol. I'll have to show off some of mine soon. 😉

I am looking forward to seeing yours. : )

Hi @whatisnew! I wanted to do a post about the plants. Do you mind if I refer back to you and your post? It's okay if not but I wanted to check with you first. 😉

Hi @deerjay! I don't mind at all. Go for it and I am looking forward to seing your photos. : )

Thank you @whatisnew! My heart is going out to you with what you are going through right now! Prayers to your brothers wife! 🙏

Oh! Very nice pink walk! My eyes are full of pink now. ;))

Even though, they are not white, I love these pink flowers and their shapes as well. They are very cute and beautiful. The Four o'clocks are amazing with their opening time. Um! It's great that you went back and took photos of them when plenty of them blooming.

The sunset with pink light in the sky is very magnificent. Great capture! ;)

Howdy Butterfly! Those first flowers are amazing, I think you should get some of them. I'm not a big fan of pink but in flowers sometimes it's acceptable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00