What's that weed?

in #weeds5 years ago

Back with another "what's that weed!"

This little patch has popped up in the ditch and looks about ready to burst into bloom!

Spring energy is hitting me hard lately, I wish I could stay up for a week and spend paychecks upon paychecks on more plants and equipment and seeds and stuff!

Every morning I do a little weed walk around the front yard. I'm really looking for the whole thing to be medicinal so I don't have to mow... Half an acre with a push mower is a BEAST.

Over the last few days, the plum tree has exploded to life! Overcast the last couple days, but Saturday there were a few wasps on it. No bees yet.

Last year, I poisoned all the wasps I could find. After that, I took a permaculture intro course and they talked about wasps. They kill caterpillars and pollinate things, so this year I'm not killing the wasps. We'll see how that goes, because wasps can be particularly assholeish. Kinda apprehensive, but if they'll kill the bad bugs, I'll give them a chance.

Brownies are almost done and I'll be off to work! Have a good whatever day it is!

Be blessed

Nate

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

dude!!!! the plum....sings!!!!!!! spring....cometh!!!!!!!!!! yeeeeehawwwww!

Woooohooooo! I'm SO ready. This year was my first year experiencing S.A.D. in the winter, and it's leaving quickly now.

The sun was up every morning when i got home, then the government decided we needed to move the clocks forward. Oh well, it'll come back soon :)

Things are sprouting and turning green. Can't wait to get that pollen on everything!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Also. How the heck did I not follow you already? Weird. Whatever, fixed it.

What happened to James? He go inactive? Haven't seen anything from him in a while...

Posted using Partiko Android

Wasps are 'assholeish' .. yep. But ya can't poison the fuckers.... yay for permaculture ...

Posted using Partiko Android

But they can poison me! It's not fair. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Can't tell what your "weed" is...

Some wasps are REALLY nasty, like white faced ones. Those suckers will come out of nowhere, and actually leave a hole in you when they bite, a good sized one. Those we kill. And if I find yellow jacket nests in my gardens in the ground, I pour boiling water into them at dawn to get rid of them. But mostly I leave bees and wasps alone and they leave me alone.

Oh yeah, yellow jackets are nasty. Don't think we have the white faced wasps down here, but we've got some scary looking cicada killers. Big ol suckers.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am SO not a fan of wasp-y/hornet-y things! Last summer we were all infested. They're mean but I do let them live. Unless they sting me. Then they get squished. Only seems fair.

That'll br my approach. Hope the plantain comes up good! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93