Back in the weeds: Mexican Marigolds

in #weeds5 years ago

Tagetes minuta or Mexican Marigolds are an introduced weed with an unusual history: they were imported into this country in horse fodder used by the British troops during the Anglo-Boer war over a century ago. They acquired the name Khaki weed as a reference to the uniforms of the soldiers.

Tagetes flower.jpg
The tiny flowers are like little bunches of Marigolds.

They are very strong-smelling plants and if they are harvested with animal fodder, it becomes contaminated and animals will refuse to eat it as it makes them ill. The smell is nauseating and doesn't wash off easily from your hands if you have to hand weed these out of a garden. Some people consider these plants useful as the smell is also repellent to insect pests and farmers allow them to grow and then plough them into the land before planting crops such as potatoes as to help reduce worm populations in the soil

Tagetes.jpg

Sort:  

You weeds often look so pretty and the. You read how unwanted, and in this case, how smelly they are. Lol

Btw: thanks for the warning, did not read hospital post due to weak stomach, but I hope you’re okay.

I've gotten over the shock of the procedure by now. Now I just have to learn to live with the diagnosis

Diagnosis? What diagnosis? I don’t like the sound of that. I could not read post as I really am squeamish...

I don't have an ulcer, I have a hernia. Which behaves a bit like an ulcer. But that means there's no treatment, only managing it

Oh! The name has bad meaning in Thai! That’s why that string smell!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The smell is very bad

In childhood, we had a very popular book about the Boer War. Written by Louis Bussenar, the book was titled "Captain Sicky-Head." But I don’t remember if it was written there what fed the horses during the war.

They fed the horses hay. But the hay was contaminated with weeds

Estas plantas entonces, me servirán de utilidad para correr a todos esos bichos que quieren comerse mis hortalizas y flores.

I don't recommend these much

Can be a great companion plant for a food patch, I find it keeps grasshoppers occupied.

Surely that's only the smaller marigolds? These get tall enough to block the light

Yes different species and smaller.

The weeds are beautiful again :-))
Interesting information!

Oh, I hate these

I thought worms were good for the soil .

Not when you are trying to grow root crops

That's really interesting. Regular marigolds don't smell so great either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99