Weekend Freewrite 2/17/2018

in #weekendfreewrite6 years ago (edited)

2/18 Weekend Freewrite:
Screen Shot 2018-02-14 at 6.24.11 PM.png Image and story inspiration courtesy of @mariannewest

Good Fences

My only defense was to write down every word they said while acting as if this was the norm in meetings such as these.

“Obviously, there was no consideration for our point of view!”
“Isn’t there a law about what’s acceptable to discuss around children of this age?
“Where was the oversight?”
“Who approved these resources?”
“Do any others reference literature like this?”
“Just what is her agenda anyway?”
“Look, I try to have an open mind, but this is going too far!”
“It’s not that I don’t think the topic is important, it’s just that ALL perspectives on the issue should be included.”
“She’s trying to influence my child to think only like she does!”
“My child cares for her and now feels totally confused, because it’s the opposite message of the one we work so hard to
instill in our household.”

Eloise was my half-sister, but everyone thought she was my cousin because we were so completely unalike. While I’m tall and wiry, she has more of an athletic build. My hair is wavy and hers is stick straight. Spontaneity is my friend, while a five year plan for everything, including potential costs for projected visits to the vet for her undisciplined and neurotic Springer Spaniel.

Her position is clear and there’s no chance in Hades of her siding with me. And these people know it. All of their issues with me are really just the same fights they pick and all glom onto when threatened by any chance of an eye spying through peepholes in the fences they’ve been building to keep in their curious pets and to keep out the imagination and joy of others for fear it will reflect poorly on their very dutiful and serious lives.

The last time they saw a movie in this town was long before the theater was turned into a Pentecostal church, but even then the only thing showing was a film about those left behind after the Rapture, with scenes of suddenly driver-less cars crashing into fire hydrants, untamed lawn mowers moving full-throttle out of yards and into the street, electric razors buzzing unattended in bathroom sinks.

The purpose of the movie was the same as the purpose for this meeting: to induce fear. The theme was also the same: If you cast doubt on us, you’re doomed. I tucked my notebook into my bag and stood to leave.

By LLeyDavis (Own work) [CC BY-SA 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)], via Wikimedia Commons ()

Sort:  

Hello you wonderful Encouragers & Prompt Deliverers!!! First of all, each one of you ROCKS!! 😁 Thank you so very much!!! I'm grateful to be in a group with people who take time out of each day to help their fellow freewriters (insert your pat on the back here would you please)! 🤗

I've attached an editable spreadsheet (Ugg..yes I know - I groaned making it LOL!😂) to help organize our deliveries.
It is also pinned in the room Marianne's Plans on Isle of Write's Discord Channel. Please feel free to message me if you'd like a link to the room.

Many of the Encouragers use the room to leave messages for the others so as there isn't any overlap in delivering the prompts (time is precious and who wants to double back?⌚ ).

Please check the schedule to see if there are others slated to deliver prompts for that day. If so, it would be great if you would message (or leave a comment for them on a Freewrite in case they are not on Discord) prior to beginning and then put that on(update) the spreadsheet. This way, each one of us can check our messages and know who starts where and when. (Again, to prevent two people delivering prompts to the same freewriter twice).

If you have any questions or would like me to adjust the sheet, please let me know.
THANK YOU ALL!!! You're doing this is truly appreciated! 💙
(Sorry for leaving such a long comment!)😿

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1AUTuGRu5pDgYodulDQVHqIth_Bbr3saHde66ErcLhQQ/edit#gid=0

I am grateful to those more organized than I, especially with the purpose of cultivating community!

I can just hear these narrow minded babblers haggling like this! I recall a movie like you describe of the rapture. The name Tim Late he sticks in my mind, if I'm not mistaken. Good writing!

Thanks, @wandrnrose7. Misery loves company, they say! Will check into the name Tim Late out of sheer curiosity.

Good riddance to the narrow-minded folks... we don't need them....

You might already have found this, but
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-122-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-spa

There is too much love being shown you already here by the @marriannewests'

Let me add on more:

I am today's encourager, here carrying today's pie for you. Here.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-123-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-fumigate

I see you missed doing for yesterday. @marriannewest has a link foryou in hr comment. You can still do both, always good..

Cheers!

Thank you so much dear @ebitularmbert! I do plan to get back into the freewrite game soon!

Please do! Pronto! We miss you

Congratulations @eyedreemit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello Eyedreemit! Thanks to you for being willing to take the time to visit the freewriters as well as delivering the prompts! It is so very appreciated! I hope that you're feeling better and have a wonderful day!

Some people have requested updated links to the newest spreadsheet, so here it is!
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1AUTuGRu5pDgYodulDQVHqIth_Bbr3saHde66ErcLhQQ/edit#gid=0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69331.49
ETH 3676.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24