Spa Crazy -- The weekend FreeWrite

My FIRST attempt at The Weekend Freewrite. Thanks to @juliamulcahy, whose weekendfreewrite post was on my feed this morning, and to @mariannewest for the initiative and guidance. I set up my post with the prompts & photos prior to the 5-minute writing time per prompt. Enjoy!

Hot-Stone-Massage.png
*image from Thai derm spa, Leicester, UK

Prompt 1

"EVERY ASPECT OF YOUR STAY IS DESIGNED TO ENSURE THAT YOU LEAVE FEELING BETTER THAN YOU ARRIVED," SHE SAID. HE LOOKED AROUND HIM...and a warm feeling enveloped him. Yes, he's in the right place.
"I'd like to have the hot stone massage for 1 hour, followed by a seaweed bath. And I think I'll end my spa day with the mani, pedi, facial package. Oh, and what's for lunch? You do provide lunch, yes?"

The woman behind the counter knows this "type" of customer well. Spa crazy. And this one is definitely one of those. Schmooze or lose she thinks to herself...

"Why yes sir, of course. It will be my pleasure to arrange your day here at our spa. You've chosen wisely, and your timing is excellent. Our best practitioners are all here today. I'm very confident that you will be amazed before you are half way through the treatments!"

She speaks with soothing confidence, and he is thoroughly convinced, yet must remain aloof.

"Excellent."

"Oh, and our a la carte menu includes sushi, organic salad, and herbal teas, smoothies...so I hope you will find all that you need to satisfy your lunch requirements!"

Prompt 2

AT LEAST THE SPIDER WAS GONE. THAT HAD NOT BEEN THE CASE WHEN HE HEARD THE SHRIEK OVERHEAD...He was forty minutes into the hot stone massage, when suddenly the daze of being woman-handled by Edna was interrupted by her primordial scream right above his ear.
He felt the soothing weight of her hands manipulating the hot stones suddenly leap from his shoulders.

"What the actual...??"

"I'm sorry, sir, but THAT SPIDER!!!

imrs.jpeg
image from Washington Post

He turned to his side; the soothing background music continues, the candle light flickers in the energetic disturbance. Edna is stepped away from the massage table, eyes alight, hands quivering.

"Well this is certainly odd. I'm here for a hot stone massage, and you're freaking out over a spider? Where is this beast that has disturbed my spa event?"

Prompt 3

THE HEEL FELL OFF...as Edna leaped for the door. "I'm so sorry, sir, but I must go!"

He is left in the quiet of the room, and his peace of mind is quickly being supplanted by annoyance, nay spa rage. "How dare she ruin my day here at the spa? I haven't even taken the seaweed bath, or overstuffed myself on sushi, or lavished in my mani-pedi-facial. How dare she ruin it! And what kind of masseuse wears heels to a spa session?"

He leaped off the massage table and grabbed his terry cloth robe. Management is going to get an earful. He lays out in his mind how he will extract as much free services at this spa as he possibly can.

"They have no idea who they're up against. I am the spa master, the king of soothe. I demand compensation," he says aloud to absolutely no one. One look in the mirror and he's ready for battle.

Spa crazy, indeed.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jimmyoblog! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Love it! I'm clapping my hands metaphorically in delight. What a great little story.

Thanks for joining in the fun. Hopefully, we can hang out again next weekend. :)

Thank you and will do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68