The Bamboo Suite

The Weekend Freewrite

This will be my Second attempt at the weekend freewrite that is split into three parts. I use The Most Dangerous Writing App and just allow the story to take shape.

You can find out more about the weekend freewrite by clicking here where @mariannewest explains how it all works and gives you the first of the three prompts.



Prompt 1

"Every aspect of your stay is designed to ensure that you leave feeling better than when you arrived," she said. He looked around him...

The man in the grey suit and green tie smiled and looked like he was trying to be encouraging. The woman who had spoken just stared. "Oh, that's nice." I felt compelled to reply. I didn't feel anything though. So when I left, if I was feeling something, then indeed her words would be prophetic.

It was always like this when I entered the Bamboo Suite. It was my third time here, and I guess it helped a little. But then again, if it was so good, why'd I need to return so many times. Still, I didn't have a choice. I had been consigned to the Bamboo Suite because of my irrational behaviour and now I had to serve my three week sentence.

Would I ever learn that questions to the wrong people would get me into bother? Probably not. I had, what was diagnosed as latent curiosity. It was punishable by stays in places like this one. I don't know when it had become a bad behaviour. It had been okay to be curious when I was a child, but today it was definitely an unwanted behaviour and the powers that be wouldn't tolerate it.

As soon as a question popped out of my mouth I was sanctioned to silence, carted on the next bus and brought to the Bamboo Suite.

I looked at the man. He was looking kind of nervous.

Prompt 2

At least the spider was gone. That had not been the case when he heard the shriek overhead.

Derek didn't know what to do. This was his first day. He wanted desperately to make a good impression but that spider had simply freaked him out.

Now he was standing in the reception greeting a new inmate, and Martha was repeating the welcoming phrase for the tenth time. She was not someone to get on the wrong side of and when she'd seen the spider she'd simply smiled.

It was eery that smile. He didn't know what to make of it at all. The shriek was bad enough but Martha's smile was ten times worse. He needed to get his head back in the game. He had to show this new one to his room.

"If you'd like to follow me, I'll show you the way. You will be in the same room as you were in the last time you visited us."

Inmate 21 nodded at him. He was a frail little thing. Looked like he wouldn't say boo to a goose, but he must have done something pretty bad if he had been sent here, and not just once, but three times.

He looked around again. The spider definitely wasn't there anymore. Martha picked up the new inmate's bag and nudged him a little to get him moving. "You can follow Derek. He'll show you the way."

Prompt 3

the heel fell off

The heel fell off to the right. Derek, I think she'd called him. He remembered Martha from his previous visits. She was a cold fish and very likely a sadist. He didn't like her one bit. But this Derek...he looked strangely out of place.

After a five minute walk, they arrived at the red door of his home for the next three weeks. "I'll take it from here, Martha." the man said as he took my bag from the woman who towered over the both of us.

"Okay, if you think you can handle it." She smirked. She remembered me. It was obvious.

"Yes, I think so. After all you've done an excellent job in training me." He replied. He said it like he genuinely meant it. Not in the least bit smarmy. Maybe I wouldn't attack this one right from the start. Maybe.

The red door opened and inside the electronic table awaited me. It was going to begin again. I was going to be connected up to the server and expected to rid myself of all my darn questions. It was going to be 24/7 Quora and that was that!



If you are new to Steem and are still trying to find your feet, then there's a great community over on Discord that are there to help. All you need do is click the banner below, the one for Steem Terminal. Just hover your mouse and you'll see it change.

Steem Terminal is just one of many great communities. It has been set up to help. You can read more about it here and here.




SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Sort:  

God you're good at these 3 prompt weekend #freewrites. Uncle Bruni loves 💕 reading your stories. 👏

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you Uncle Bruni. I love your stopping by. x

Love the ending - not at all what I expected :)

Me neither. Lol! x

Haha 24/7 Quora, that will do it. Lots of mystery to the story has a person thinking because it seems very relevant even today.

Loving the layout you are nailing the formatting :)

Your tip with the steemd.com helped big time. Pinched the red font from BuddyUp. Did you notice?

I've also started creating templates and saving them on notepads. Really helps. :D

I did notice. It looks really good. Does help you also use a header type for them since on steempeak the red does not show but the bigger text still displays nice. So also keep that in mind to not rely on the color as your main separator. Well done. :)

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Try musing.io next time for some answers ;p
Here's another prompt

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Click On Me For Prompt👇🏿

IMG_9525.JPG

And don't forget to swing on over to the @FreeWriteHouse, to win some SBI shares

Ah, but would musing.io be a punishment? Lol! Thanks for the prompt @kaerpediem.

Hi @juliamulcahy!

Glad to see your weekend free write on my feed this morning, a snowy day in Philly.

Your efforts are well received by me! So much so that I'm jumping onboard and giving this a try...

Peace and smiles

Oh, that makes me happy. I will pop over and see what you came up with.

Much appreciated...:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63