UNKNOWN

in #weekendfreewrite5 years ago (edited)

I left the house, feeling like a piano had been dropped on my head. The taxi stood waiting for me. I walked grudgingly towards it,it felt like every step I took was taking a whole lot out of me. I sat in and the driver gave a disapproving look then a smirk.

"178, ringway" I said

He drove off, without a word. He was rude or maybe he had a bad morning.

I could feel a pang of headache from the lower back of my head. I ran my hand through my hair and lay back with my head resting on the headrest and my eyes closed.

I thought about the night before, I was with my musketeers, my two best friends from college. We hanged out every weekend, party, drink, dance, and more drink.

I love those two. We three had been roomates in our freshman year. And we had been together ever since

The game of thrones sound track jolted me back to reality, It had been my phone ringtone for a while now. I was a huge fan of the series .I stared at my screen, it was Lily; one of my musketeers

"Hey babes" I said with my voice croaky whilst rubbing my forehead with the other hands

"Racheal," she said.

Her voice was brittle, like she was about to cry. I moved on my seat already worried

"Lily, are you ok? Is everything alright", trying to sound as calm as I could."

Now, she was crying, I could hear her.

She mumbled something but got drowned by her tears.

"I can't hear you lily. Please, tell me whats wrong"

"Mera is dead" she blurted out and kept on crying.


As we changed directions towards Mera's house. The thought of last night filled my head. Mera was great last night. We all had fun. She talked about a new project she wanted to try her hands on. We had taken the same Uber home and dropped her off first. I remember her kissing me on the forehead. She was so drunk and we laughed about it. And this morning she's dead.

My taxi pulled over right in front of her house, the place was flooded with the cops, I saw lily with two of the cops and ran towards her. I hugged her so tight and she cried the more, she whispered into my ears

"Mera committed suicide, Racheal. She committed suicide. The police said she might have been depressed. How did we miss that, Racheal? How did we?"

I was in shock. I haven been trying to think about what went wrong but suicide never crossed my mind.I couldn't hold back my tears any more and they flowed freely.

I slipped into the house and slumped on a chair, my expression blank and confused. Death was strange to me. I never had to mourn anyone.

The sound of the television reverberated in my brain and for a moment I stared at it, and it was a news about a natural disaster happening in another country. The hurricane destroyed houses and properties. Some of the people were seen running and looking for shelter. But, the only forces now in play were the hurricane winds flinging everything in their way towards their shelter and the death toll was increasing every minute.

I tried to switch off the television but an officer stopped me.

"ma'am, you can't be here now." He said.

"An investigation is going on and this room is part of evidence" he added as he walked me out.

I wanted to stay and remember everything we did in here together. The day we baked and messed up the whole place. The day she decided that make up was now optional for her, she had looked so pale the first time but she was unperturbed.The day her blind date turned out to be the smoothie man down the road and we had to stop patronizing him because she was too embarrassed to face him again. I and lily had teased her through the night. The day I lost my job and she had to give the big talk and get me back out to the world.

Also, when lily's fiance left her at the altar, she had to be the mother and watch her alone because i was out on a business trip.

But, Mera.....
Mera didn't give us a chance. And we were too blind to see the pain under those perfectly made dentition of hers.

image

Picture source: pixabay

It's the weekend freewrites!!! Here three prompts are strung into a story.( I made the three prompts bold in my story).

Wanna join the freewriters ? Visit the @freewritehouse and @mariannewest blog to scoop from the fun. Lots of stems/SBIs to win

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Great one!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @wems! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You just never know .
This was a sad one ....

I really had to give that feeling and what's coming up now some space....
I am too late to pass you the next prompt, so an invitation it is
110B1F42-8D0B-4FF1-8AFC-71A942555793.PNG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76