THE BEAUTIFUL WEEPING WHITE PINE!!!!!

IMG_0818.jpg

This truly is a beautiful evergreen, this is the Eastern White pine grafted to produce this graceful weeping pine. This means that all Weeping White Pines are all identical to the very first tree!
The white pine is an easy to care for pine, with soft needles and an aromatic fragrance. This tree became very popular in England in 1620 but they called it " Weymouth Pine ".

IMG_0819.jpg

In 1866 in a British garden the official Weeping White Pine was categorized and came to be.
This is a very graceful tree, and it needs to be pruned and trained to grow upright or it will become a shrub like tree.
When this tree is pruned correctly it can grow up to 12 foot tall, it just grows slowly compared to the regular White pine.

IMG_0820.jpg

I have had some of these trees grow to about 10 foot tall, they love most well drained soil. I usually just let them grow naturally, but some I will train.

The White pine is definitely one of my favorites, and over the years I have grown thousands..........@silvertop favorite! :)

So If you are looking for an easy care, graceful evergreen that is easy to prune this is your tree!!!

I hope this post makes you want to run out in the yard and plant a tree........... make it a White Pine, @silvertop just might be driving by!!!

Sort:  

I really like weeping type trees of all sorts. The nice thing about the weeping white pine is it's green all the time and the needles are soft and delicate. Not the prickly sort at all. Thanks for sharing!

Do you also have 'christmas' trees growing over there?

I kind of do I just hate to cut them down...... I have woods! :)

I hate it when I see a good post without comments. Upvotes do not satisfy as much as acknowldgement, so here I am, thank you for teaching me something new - and showing me a new part of nature I had not known about.

It is what life is about - learning and growing.

Interesting article and beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you, this is one of my many passions! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86