This is only step one [Quitting Smoking Day 12]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #wellness6 years ago

I remember some months back talking to my girlfriend Kate about quitting smoking. I mentioned taking a break from smoking marijuana and taking a break from drinking too. As I said this to here I was thinking to myself "that is the first step toward happiness." The more I learn about the human body, emotion, the brain, chemistry and how we process our life experiences, I realize even more so that we take for granted these bodies that we are in. We manipulate them with drugs to process the way we want to process. It's like a shortcut. And we don't give our bodies time to process emotions properly. We don't build the proper skill or strength either. Our reliance on substance gets stronger for this reason.

I am sticking to goal number one right now, no smoking for 100 days, but honestly is only been a few days since my last bowl and I have a beer in my hand. I'm sitting her saying, "Hey guys, follow me! I've quit smoking! You can too!" but the truth is, as anyone one of you who have been reading my posts knows, I really don't know if this is for everyone and mostly I post these days that have gone by since my last cigarette for myself and the one other person here on Steemit who needs to see that it is possible.

What I struggle with the most is taking the emotional information I received today and translating it into something positive.

A lot has happened at work and at the same time as a young dad, amazing girlfriend and all, being a young dad working hard to make ends meet is tiring. I'm exhausted. I get up at 5:30 am every morning. And from the moment I'm up the day is non-stop until 9 pm when my kids are asleep and in bed.

Because it is non-stop, I have no time to process the fact that I have a new position at the hotel to incorporate into the management structure let alone invent, validate purpose for and communicate to the rest of my staff. I've never done this before! Crazy...

What a day...

My ex, trust me, I will spare you ALL the sorrows, but my ex quite literally (and trust me when I say "literally" with honesty) drives me crazy mad. I can't think straight. Why the hell would you tell you five year old son..... I can't share this information. I said I'd spare you the details and I can't have my kids reading this later finding out things about their mom they don't need to know. Anyways.... move on.... See?! Crazy Mad....

Well, here's to day 12! Peace be with you friends.

Why am I quitting

Smoking prevents me from seeing the beauty in life. The effect it has on my body is subtle but I see it. I'm agitated and my disposition is negative. It's preventing me from gaining out of life the joy that is offered every day that I spend with my children, my future wife and the amazing job I have at my favorite hotel in downtown Napa.

If you're a smoker and want to quit I invite you to join me by simply commenting each day that you have also gone without a cigarette. If you don't want to quit and it doesn't have a negative impact on your life, then god bless you. I'm jealous. I wish I weren't so sensitive to the chemicals that I take in.

Here's to goal number one, 100 days!

Steem On!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61138.54
ETH 2920.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54