Top Crypto Hater Facebook in trouble due to Data Misuse: Karma in action?

in #whalepower6 years ago (edited)

Is this a case of Karma going against Facebook for creating lies against cryptocurrencies (goggle joined recently–in order to secure their monopoly) -thus banning all crypto related ads including ICO´s and established projects-see my former post for details .

According to CNBC News

Facebook shares fell as much as 8 percent on Monday after reports that Cambridge Analytica mined the data of over 50 million users of the social network without their permission.
Cambridge Analytica worked on Facebook ads for President Donald Trump during the 2016 election. It was initially funded by conservative billionaire Robert Mercer and led by former Trump advisor Steve Bannon.
Whistleblower Christopher Wylie revealed the alleged role played by Cambridge Analytica in obtaining data from Facebook users to The Observer newspaper in the U.K. and The New York Times.

The above news is strange because Facebook reason for banning cryptos was to protect their members from the risks of cryptocurrencies –however recent event has proven beyond reasonable doubts that Facebook including their fellow crypto haters Google , Banks and Microsoft are the real devils advocates (not cryptocurrencies like Steemit, bitcoin, elyte.tech ) , here are some few point:

Pic Source

Do no evil: I understand the do no evil claim from google and Facebook et al especially that cryptos possesses risks –in fact, there is no perfect industry out there and yes there are some fake ICos however the risks from these established companies like Facebook, Google and banks to consumers are far more than the risks from crypto´s. One good example is Steemit vs Facebook. In steemit, members can at least earn something daily (no matter how small) and or have hope of paying their future bills from revenue earned online . However this is not the case with Facebook because they will never share revenue with their members rather , rather they sell members data`s for more profits (even to foreign entities for political purposes and fake news).

Trust: Who do you guys trust more? Facebook and google claiming to protect us from evil Cryptos or the industrial revolution and wealth cryptos are creating. Moreover, the issue of trust lies on knowledge and understanding the true nature of an entity you are dealing with. Therefore, for me, I rather trust steemit and its superior steem blockchain technology ( including newly formed elyte.tech ) than Facebook and its capitalist shareholders who can do everything for their shareholder`s wealth maximization.

Now is your turn, do you trust facebook with your data´s? send in your comments, resteem in order for others to join and upvote to send in your support.

Click here and read my former post: Baby angry at Dad for Not buying Steem when it was very cheap

An Advert for a top new crypto https://elyte.tech

A top Crypto firm is in need of a backend developer, contact me via steemit chat if you are interested or know someone
Join elyte.tech telegram group https://t.me/joinchat/E6tXj0dThqzzjVlWJRuxLw for info on their bounty and thus join the next best thing

Sort:  

Absolutely, Facebook claimed to be on our side thinking that we are foolish? karma will attack all the greedy crypto haters and we in the crypto space will shine .....Very good posts indeed. Together we are stronger against them. Upped.

Thanks for your daily great comments little miss Ronja. I agree, together we in the crypto space are indeed stronger

@charles1 When I first heard about Facebook and their co-devils banning cryptocurrency ads citing consumer harm as the reason, the question i ask was that: How are cryptos harmful?

How are they harmful than stocks and bonds or the wall street?

Then it occurred to me that there is more than meets the eye. It was nothing but a ploy to keep their monopoly!

Point!!!!! you are correct...they even think that we are fools...however we will tell them that we are smarter isnt it? I wish you more success

In the end, those who do bad will be dealt upon. Crypto is David and Facebook, Google is Goliath. David will defeat Goliath! They corporate giants can only try short term tactics to destroy blockchain/crypto/Steemit, but it will be ultimately be destroyed in the long term! Facebook will be the new Blockbuster.

WARNING! The comment below by @fakul leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Thanks a lot for the warning....I wish you more success

I still use facebook because that's where all my friends still are, I never trusted them tho. Steemit is he peoples's platform I certainly trust them more. I see all my friends playing the stupid little games and quizzes, "what you would look like as..." , It was pretty obvious it's all data mining from the beginning. The fact that I can go to an online shopping page totally unrelated and then see their products advertised on facebook the next time I open it or that when I come back from the Rockies, I get all Rockies travel related adds after I post my pictures really drives the point home.

It's the all seeing eye, facebook knows everything we are up to. With a simple code typed in a private message box, I once told a friend what restaurant and what street and city they were while outside the country to prove that point, freaked them out! The scariest part, I'm not even computer savvy. If I can do it, anybody can. IMAGINE THAT , anybody can stalk anybody they want with a simple code on facebook.

I think it is karma for banning crypto adds and serves them right. It's only their part of the fight to remain top-dog as new better platforms are making them obsolete. Censor anything that could destroy their agenda. GO STEEMIT!

Very good point, thanks for your comment and more success to you

I haven't trusted FakeBook in YEARS. I saw more than five years ago, from a technology perspective, they were lying about the data they were collecting and then sharing. This happened randomly. My account was locked down, but somehow, one thing I only shared on FakeBook was then later seen by other websites I had visited. I did not / do not have SSO capability for FakeBook to sign into anything else with.

It was creepy and that was when I knew they were lying.

They have no other purpose than to collect data, mine it, aggregate it, sell it and then let law enforcement look under the hood to be used against you. It was worth it to get off back then and I'm glad I did.

I don't trust anything Microsoft, Google, FaceBook, etc... develop. They can't be trusted. They will share your information. They will compromise it. It's a given. Like any other unsalvageable marriage, you divorce and move on.

Good point bud, together we will make our crypto space be a big success ....haters will always hate

Furthermore they say that Twitter would ban crypto ads as well. I see their point and I feel it's good for steemians.

Why do they ban ads on Cryptos ?
My speculation is that the conventional source of ADs are feeling threatened with the popularity of Cryptos and the potential spike in the cost of advertising in social media due to more power taken by Crypto related ADs in the future. So, maybe they feel they want to nip it at the bud.

Why is it good for us that conventional social media ban ads on Cryptos?

That way, I feel these platforms like Steemit would gain more popularity and start becoming bigger launchpads for Crypto related and for all you know, maybe make Cryptos their mainstream.

Bigger market for Steemit = Higher rate for Steem

Good point indeed..I analysed it even deeper in my older post. This will open more innovative decentralised search engines and social media platforms..a win win for all of us.

I' ll look to read at your older post. Thank you. :)

I rarely post on Facebook anymore (except my Steemt articles!), why should I when Steem pays for me efforts? I also once payed Facebook for some advertising, what a waste of cash that was, around $15 and I got around 2 responses neither leading to a sale.

Lol, same here....I had bad experience with FB and no ROI at all...keep steeming to more success

Definitely karma in action, Zuckerberg should know decentralization the blockchain is the key, I hope this is just the beginning, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube will be strangle by this decentralized blockchain what is the essence of social media that not value added, let sit back and be watching, I hope soon they will join train

Point, I agree. They should know now that we are not fools and will thus defend blockchain/ crypto´s against their fud...

Well, well… Karma is a bitch. I actually posted that yesterday.

I totally agree. Give it some time and the controling giants of the “surveillance companies” world will see a popular backlash.

Point, I agree. Thanks for your comment

Greedy set of people, hiding true intent with sweet words. Up steemit

Point, I agree

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95