Cabbage White Butterflies Mud Puddling

in #whalepower5 years ago

The last day of last August brought rain in the morning, which brought this group of Cabbage White Butterflies to the end of my driveway. They were mud puddling.

Butterflies usually sip nectar from flowers but they also need salts and minerals in their diet, which they get from sipping mud puddles after it rains. Most likely the butterflies you see mud puddling will be males. When males sip the mud, the nutrients are added to their sperm.

During mating, the nutrients are then passed on to the female which makes the eggs more viable.

Six butterflies are coming in for a landing.

Yay! I got a photo of a face. Top photo with the wings open.

Thanks for stopping by!

Information Source: thoughtco.com

Image Source: All photos are my own.

I am a proud member of the @whalepower community.

Sort:  

Gonna have to try the mud sipping. :-)

As usual, priceless photos. Merry Christmas.

Aw, thanks so much @agmoore! I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and I am wishing you a healthy and Happy New Year! : )

So sorry for this late reply. This is my first day back on Steemit and I hope I can be here on a steady pace now.

I was worried about you. Hope it's just Christmas rush and your health is OK

I have not been feeling well for the past 6 months; no energy and very weak. Christmas day began with a 3 day migraine and it knocked me out, big time! The pain went away but not my low energy level. I could barely move. Got blood work done and all of my thyroid levels are very low along with my blood pressure. (I had my thyroid removed in the year 2000.) I have an appointment with my doctor tomorrow and hopefully all I need is to have my Synthroid medication increased. Thanks for caring @agmoore. Hugs!

It is so hard, when they don't know...I hope the Synthroid does it. I miss those beautiful nature pictures 🌲 🌾 🍂
Whenever you feel better, your friends will be waiting for you here.
Take care of yourself!

I hope the Synthroid works too and it makes me happy to know that you will be waiting for me if I am ever gone for weeks at a time.. HUGS!
I love your nature icons. : )

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Thanks for letting me know. Going to replenish now. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87