Splendid What-App (What Q&A) Review: First STEEM Decentralized Q&A App! Ask & Learn 😎

in #what-qa6 years ago

A few days ago, I was thinking about a project like QUORA but on the Steem Blockchain. Where users can ask or answer and get rewarded for every such action. Upvotes and Comments should be common to the application and @steemit.

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Baby Boy! (1).png

Whatever I was thinking at that moment was already a reality. I found this post trending under the #Steem and #Introduceyourself tag - READ HERE. It tells you about once such wonderful app called @what-app created by @shango dada(Big Brother in hindi) as a lead developer.
Today I will review this app which I have downloaded recently! It is available for both Android and iOS. Now this is sweet because the whole world is on Mobile, everyone owns smartphones. People live and breathe on the internet. Although there is no web-app available. I would have loved it but that's okay. 60-70% of my time is spent on my phone! :-)

DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA_1680x8400.png

WHO IS @SHANGO DADA?

Have you ever heard about https://steemtracked.com? If your answer is NO, then click on the link, enter your username and see a great range of statistics for your Steemit Profile. Now you can see your upvotes' earnings of last 28 days. If the graph is going down, you need to change your habits on Steemit. :-) You can also see the monthly overview of your posts, individual estimated earnings, earnings done by time, your upvote's worth, post engagements and tons of other data compiled under one website having kickass UI. If this doesn't interest you then check https://what-app.io/ which is another great project under @shango's name as he is the common entity between the two projects :-D

You can connect with him:
Discord: shango#7892
Steem.Chat: shango

DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA_1680x8400.png

NOW WHAT IS @WHAT-APP?

What-app is a Question & Answer app where you get rewarded. Ask questions and earn money, can you believe it? And of-course the answer them and earn more money. You can also mark answers that you like. Right now it's available on Apple App Store and Google Play Store. Alternatively, you can go to https://what-app.io/ and find those links. You can also go to your respective App Stores and type "What-Q&A" to find the application. Click on these links, download the app and enjoy a never seen before experience of getting rewarded for asking and answering.

As per @what-app's recent post about the release of iOS & Android Apps, a web version is currently under development although for mobile devices, it is already available. Now if you see their roadmap, they have come out pretty fast. In Dec, 2017 the app was first announced and then iOS version was released in Jan, 2018 followed by Android version release in March, 2018. Looks like the speed of light to me. Once the web app gets released in Q3, they will start re-branding and promotion of the application. Good times ahead with the inclusion of SMTs in 2019.

DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA_1680x8400.png

LOGIN & ANSWER YOUR FIRST QUESTION

Once you download the app and open it, you will find login button on the top right corner of the screen. Once you click that, you will see an option to "Sign In via Steemconnect", click that as well and sign by using your private Active Key or Owner key. In the main screen, you will be able to see some questions asked by various other users. To answer any of these, just click on the question and you will be redirected to next window where you will find a button to "Submit Answer". Just write the answer and post it by clicking "Add Answer" as show in the below GIFs:

What Q&A Login.gif

How To Login

Untitled Project.gif

Submit Your First Answer




















Your answer will be submitted as a comment on a Steemit Post which is originally a question by someone else. Your answers can be seen under "Answers" Tab and in your profile!

DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA_1680x8400.png

ASK YOUR FIRST QUESTION

As you answered your first question, and scanned through a number of other questions and their answers, now it's time to ask your first question. This is the first question I asked - What Is The Best Upvoting Bot Service You Have Used?
And it got an upvote from @therealwolf as well. Seems like @what-app is quite lucky for me. Yay :')
The only thing I want to mention here is that #what-qa is the default tag added by the app. "Category" (2) is also the tag which will be added in the post but consider it as the main one. Rest, you have an option to add 3 more tags which makes the total 5.


Blank Question Fields


Filled Question Fields


I will now discuss each and every section of the app with the help of screenshots and GIFs so pay attention. :-)

DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA_1680x8400.png

"What Q&A" - FEED

Feed section of this app is pretty simple and neat. It has 3 tabs:

  • New: Instead of showing every Steemit post, it only shows the latest or new questions which were made through the app.
  • Following: This section displays the questions from the people you follow.
  • Trending: This section shows the trending questions made on the app that got the most activity over the past 7 days.

This is how your normal feed looks with other options that I will explain one by one!

Screenshot_20180402-215515.jpg

DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA_1680x8400.png

SWIPE

This is a very unique feature, feels like Tinder of Q&A and my favorite. You can swipe LEFT to see the new question and swipe RIGHT to open the question and its answers. See the GIF below:

Untitled Project625fc6d0.autosave.gif

DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA_1680x8400.png

"What Q&A" - ANSWERS

This section will show up the answers that were given by other users on the questions you asked through the app. This is great as it deserved a separate tab. These are also the replies to the steemit post which was made when you post questions. Earlier I thought that this section would reveal the answers I had given to questions asked by other users. but those answers will be displayed in Profile section. On the First Question which I asked, I got two answers or replies but both of them are automatic or maybe done by bots. One of them was a spam comment and other one was a warning message by @arcange that informs other users about the spam and how to handle it. Cheers to him for his great initiative. :-)

DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA_1680x8400.png

"What Q&A" - PROFILE

It shows your username, no. of followers, no. of peeps you are following, the questions you have asked so far through the app and the answers you have given to others' questions. :-) Perfect display of information, not very cluttered.


Questions


Answers


Other than the above two tabs, we have "Settings" that can be found by clicking the button at the top right corner of the screen when you are on this section. Set your voting power and currency to be displayed under each post. :-) App gives you three options i.e. Dollar, Euro and Pound.

DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA_1680x8400.png

SEARCH

When you search any keyword, the results displayed will have that keyword in Questions or Answers or Username of the people who asked those questions or answered them. This will filter and sort all major questions and I think more options will come in the subsequent updates.


Search By Username


Search By Tag Or Keyword


DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA_1680x8400.png

FINAL REVIEW

The app is equipped with all necessary features to get started. I feel that there are many areas of improvement and I am sure that will be fulfilled in the coming updates. Overall UI & experience of the app is pretty smooth especially the "SWIPE" feature. I would rate this app as 4 out of 5. Considering the quality of users on the Steem Blockchain, we might witness some great questions that would be asked and to top that, we might have some great answers. I would request my readers and friends to use the app for any kind of question they have in their minds related to any domain. Let's ask, learn and make some money :-D

DQmSJFCmiPGGtTrvw93vM77RZsA56t47xh9DbFpbqJxfgoA_1680x8400.png

I hope you liked this review and you will download this app today. Please support me by upvoting and resteeming this post. Leave your comments below if you have any questions regarding the app. Also, tell me what should I review next. If I like your idea or the topic you suggest then you will win a full 100% upvote from my side, plus a mention in the next post. Cheers!

Check My Previous Posts:

What Is The Best Upvoting Bot Service You Have Used?

#STEEMGIGS: I will Create A Kickass Main Image For Your Next Steemit Post!
#deletefacebook : Trending On Twitter! Is This The Beginning Of The End Of The Most Powerful Social Media Website?
Got Blacklisted By Minnowbooster Recently? Find Out Why And What Can Be Done! And A Note To SPAMMERS
7 Things Changed After The Last UI Update Of Steemit
My Steemit Goals For 2018 || Voting @firepower As Witness || A Journey From Minnow To Whale
What Happens When You Meet STEEMians Off The Blockchain! India STEEMIT Meetup!

Check the STEEMIT SUCCESS Guides:

Splendid Case Study On How To Get Your Comments Upvoted With Minnowbooster & Gain Followers As A Bonus - STEEMIT GUIDE #6
Splendid Guide On How To Create Insane GIFs And Bring Life To Your Posts - STEEMIT GUIDE #5
Splendid Case Study On STEEPSHOT: A Visual Lifestyle Treat On The STEEM Blockchain
Splendid Case-Study On How To Lease Or Buy Delegated Steem Power And Rock Your STEEMIT Life! - STEEMIT GUIDE #4
7 BATSHIT Crazy Tools To Help You Generate Kickass Content & Improve Upvote Chance - STEEMIT GUIDE #3
Make Impact With Your 1st Post On STEEMIT : SECRET REVEALED! - STEEMIT GUIDE #2
New To STEEMIT? Here Are 5 Things You Should Plan On Doing - STEEMIT GUIDE #1

Follow me on Steemit:
@hungryhustle & @dmaniagod

Sort:  

GREAT POST. And a snappy looking little app. I am trying to NOT get into 53 new apps that keep me on my gadget, so I'm not going to play, but you review of it was really good. I tried the steemtracked but it only gave me rough numbers (same as steem) nothing more. Clicked on everything visible and no obvious way to get more data - maybe I'm too new??? :)

Nice review @hungryhustle, I too thought it was very thorough and well explained. However for me personally I'm not drawn to use it, my "work" time is at the laptop, my phone is just a handy camera for when I'm out and about.

Like @artemislives, I feel a resistance to clutter my blog feed with less polished posts? Perhaps that is a attachment to my ego in some ways. Perhaps things will change as we evolve and less time is spent on steemit.com and more users stay on their specific dapps.

Who knows, for now those are my thoughts though, I guess the old school on here are judging the boundaries of a "shit-post". Which is healthy and for sure the looser definitions of this have been the spark of user growth here. Question is how is the retention?

Overall good review, thanks for always being fast to explore the emerging tools and apps on the chain bro! :)

haha... my phone I also prefer to primarily use as a flashlight, a clock, and alarm and a camera. :) I do keep my regular apps on it for when I travel, but it's a discipline (and a good one) to use the laptop for steem. Keeps me focussed and in "work" mode. Increasingly I prefer my play to be non-digital.

Thanks a lot @kenistyles. And I totally feel you bro! Believe me old is gold. I made this review so that interested user will checkout this app, use it and provide their feedback to the developer which will help him improve. I will use this app mostly to provide answers to the questions related to my knowledge space. I think, that is a great way to generate followers.

I feel a resistance to clutter my blog feed with less polished posts? Perhaps that is a attachment to my ego in some ways. Perhaps things will change as we evolve and less time is spent on steemit.com and more users stay on their specific dapps.

That is definitely not ego my man, that is just you choosing QUALITY over anything else which is great and I am also a true believer of that. Every new app that comes out there, initially faces the quality issues as the users that try these apps for the first time are mostly new. But that's definitely going to change.

I think this is going to be one of those apps that are going to grow a lot in the coming months because of the concept. Maybe in the future we might be able to filter out the posts from various dapps which we use or follow. On Steem blockchain, everything seems to be a reality, just a matter of time now. :-D

Thanks a lot @artemislives for your honest feedback. Both Steemtracked.com and @what-app are budding projects and they are evolving daily. These are very new, like 3-4 months old and I am sure they will get better in the coming days. Cheers :-D And hi-five because both of us are newbies :-P My profile says I am still a plankton. Haha!

haha... I aspire to be a plankton :) I shall watch out for the later versions and see how they can seriously add value. Good point. :)

You got a 34.21% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @hungryhustle!

Wololo!

(RandoHealer has healed this post because your blog was targeted for healing due to malicious downvotes!)

This looks interesting. Answer to Quora?

Yes @omitaylor. This is going to replace Quora sooner or later. People should get incentive for asking and answering great questions. ;)

Oh cool. I will look at it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43