What is ETH?

in #what6 years ago

What is ETH?

Can somebody explain it to me like I am 12 years old? I have never really known what Blockchain technology is and it all doesn't seem so special to me.

Yes I have seen the stickied link, but that doesn't answer any of my questions, it only says that ETH is unique because it is decentralized, just like every other altcoin does.

[–]giact 2 points 1 year ago
ETH (ether) is just the token, not the technology which uses it (Ethereum).

Are you confused over what ETH is used for, or over what the whole point of Ethereum is?

[–]silkblueberry 1 point 1 year ago*
Imagine a website like Facebook. Facebook has a bunch of servers and all the users connect to those servers using clients (macbook, laptop, phone, tablet, whatever). Facebook's servers are needed to connect and coordinate all the clients. Now imagine if there was no longer a need for the servers at all, and all the clients could accomplish the same synchronization in a point to point network. That's what Ethereum is. It's the beginning of the end for the server middlemen.

Now read: https://coincenter.org/2016/03/what-is-ethereum/

EDIT: Sorry I pasted the wrong link here for you... updating the link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66896.12
ETH 3078.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71