#WhateverWednesday: San Francisco Museum of Ice Cream

in #whateverwednesday6 years ago (edited)

Yes, it's true! There's an entire museum dedicated to ice cream of all flavors, origins, shapes, and sizes! When visiting my sister in San Francisco this summer, she very much wanted to take the kids to the the Museum of Ice Cream. Now, I'm not one for museums of any sort, but ice cream? I had to admit, my interest was piqued. Watch out, though! The bathrooms aren't until the very end of the hour-long tour, so make sure you take the kiddos to a nearby restaurant for a potty break first!

As you enter the Museum of Ice Cream, every area has a different ice cream theme, while each employee bears an ice cream name. Upon the wall are facts about ice cream, and you have to pass a test before you can even go on to your first sweet treat. Each room after has an activity along with some sugar-loaded sweet: pink lemonade ice cream, cotton candy, pop rocks, popsicles, a type of Japanese ice cream, a Mexican fruit bar (my personal favorite!)...until you get to the pool of sprinkles. By that time, my 2- and 3-year olds were absolutely buzzing from a sugar high. Swimming in a pool of sprinkles?? With the warning that you have to be careful not to get them stuck in your ears??? No, thank you. I must be a fun hater, because that's when we decided to skip ahead to the ice cream swings.


All of the choices are just so overwhelming!


I've lost my mind, I've had so much sugar to eat!


Final stop after skipping the Pool of Sprinkle Doom.

Overall, it was a fun experience. My children have never had so many sweet treats in one sitting in their entire lives! The music was extremely loud (am I getting old?), but the bright atmosphere and unique experience definitely make it worth a stop if you are in the San Francisco area looking for something different to do.

Sort:  

Museum of ice cream... In what kind of a forrest I have been living!!!!!

Right? Every kids' dream! It was like a nightmare wrapped up in a dream, actually. Ha! But that's just because I'm old, I guess. It was definitely worth the experience, though. They just need to turn the music DOWN! Or just be more like this old lady...

I think it was still a dream at my age now too :D

Crap! I missed this before the payout!

I cannot even imagine what an afternoon in the museum of ice cream would be like. When I worked in an ice cream shop we had displays made of Crisco and I cannot even tell you how many times we had to make new ones because kids just came up and took a bite out of it.

one - how is that okay?
two - mouthful of Crisco = instant karma. lol

Mouthful of Crisco? DISGUSTING!!!! I can't even imagine. Gross, gross, gross. I can see how for a kid it would be a thing of dreams. For me, a little overwhelming! I know I've said this like a million times, but it was just SO LOUD. That's when I knew I was getting way too old when that was my complaint about eating ice cream all afternoon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.34
ETH 3798.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53