One Shot of Whiskey

in #whiskey6 years ago

I traveled through Indonesia from Lombok, through Bali, Java and Sumatra. I wrote this song on a bus going from Panang town on the west coast of Sumatra after a few hours up at the back of the bus drinking local Sumatran rum with some Batak people. They still remembered their grandfathers taking heads during wars. But then the Christians came along and converted them. These blokes were really friendly, and we got quite drunk together on the rum while singing old songs by Frank Sinatra and other crooners. What a night!

After they all fell asleep I sat at the bus window, staring out into the dark and the words and music to this song came into my head. It's a melancholy country song about a musician, getting on in years, looking back on his life and regretting he couldn't go back to his first love. Time for another shot of Whisky....somehow, rum just didn't fit the words.

If you like my music please visit my website at https://sunnystudios.com.au/product/one-shot-of-whisky/ to listen to more. One Shot of Whisky-800.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56