Edradour 2002 Straight from the Cask 10YO Scotch Whisky with Montecristo No. 2 and Cohiba Robusto

in #whisky5 years ago

I see you raising an eyebrow asking: "2 cigars huh?"....... The whisky is the focus here.

EDRADOUR 2002 STRAIGHT FROM THE CASK 10YO BURGUNDY CASK SINGLE MALT SCOTCH WHISKY

What a wonderful whisky this is and what a shame I can't find any more. Edradour is a small Highland Distillery that, despite its size, puts out an impressive range of whiskys which for me is most notable in the range of different bottles and packaging the whiskys come in. Not that I'm advocating you should buy a whisky based on the bottle alone, just a curiosity that I'm pointing out. Anyway, I digress. As I said, this is a wonderful whisky, full of rich flavours and layers of complexity. The rose colored box immediately made me think of roses and with that skewed mindset I went searching for the flavour. I didn't find anything rosey about the aroma but there were deep rich fruit flavours (think Christmas cake plums and raisins) and sweetness like a smoked honey ham. This is not a drinking whisky in as much as it is a slow sipping and savoring whisky. Lots of different layers melding and changing as you sip and slosh in the mouth. The burgundy wine cask flavours are the first to come out which melts softly into those dark fruit flavours that then leaves that smokey honey sweetness. A nice long finish that leaves the chest warm from the inside on a cold lonely night - ahhh that's the stuff.

MONTECRISTO NO. 2 CUBAN CIGAR

I'm sure I've written it somewhere because I've said it a lot, the Montecristo No. 2 is the ubiquitous Cuban Cigar. It's a good cigar that has robust flavours but it's pretty one dimensional. Most cigars will change even slightly from top to toe as you smoke but the flavours in the Montecristo No. 2 don't change much. A medium strong cigar that always has good smoke being consistently well rolled, it has a leathery bitter taste that's not too strong but bitter enough for a Cuban cigar

PAIRING #1

This cigar paired OK with the Edradour. The taste of the

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61233.41
ETH 2934.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56