Turning Dad's Old Cassettes Into Art for the Whisper Gallery I: Cassette Tape Dimensionals

in #whisper6 years ago (edited)

storybird Whisper.jpg

Turning Dad's Old Cassettes Into Art for the Whisper Gallery I: Cassette Tape Dimensionals


Firstly, I am so thankful to be a part of the Whisper Gallery I. This has been an incredible project to inspire and cultivate new art in a unique way. Thanks to @mrblinddraw for the invitation as well as all of the artists thus far whom have contributed: @upheaver
@paolobeneforti @aksinya @voronenka @natureofbeing @artistchristian @juliakponsford @erb @adrianv @scuzzy @coloringiship @rachelsvparry @Yusaymon.

Inspiration from @yusaymon


I have been contemplating ways to use music mediums to create art. After seeing @yusaymon's piece, it struck me to use something transparent. His painting has something that looks almost backlit and transparent to it. The browns and blues are also striking to me. I decided to create a piece using structural and color ideas from @yusaymon's piece. I also used the eye of my cat in the middle of the photo as an interpretive transition from the portrait and eye of the woman.


Source

Cassette Tape Dimensionsals


I give you "Cassette Tape Dimensionals, 2018"

storybird Whisper close.jpg

The Making Of


Step by step, here's a visual guide to how I created this piece of art.

IMG_0847.JPG

First, I searched for frames. This one came from Blick, and turns out to be ideal for the piece.

IMG_0844.JPG

I took an old tape from my family (one they didn't want to keep anymore).

IMG_0853.JPG

I removed the back of the frame as well as the placeholder art.

IMG_0854.JPG

disco.jpg

This cassette happens to be a disco cassette from my parents. For those of you who would like to take a listen to what was on this cassette, check out the video below!

IMG_0861.JPG

It is a bit odd cutting up something that you know has a piece of art, culture, history, and meaning behind it. But this process is going to be fun nonetheless because I am creating something more modern. I like to think of it as an homage to cassettes.

IMG_0871.JPG

I created the parallel lines along this matte and started taping them to the back of it.

IMG_0872.JPG

Once I got them about half way diagonally across the piece, the hard part begins.

IMG_0878.JPG

I didn't want to just layer the casette strips on eachother, I took the weaving approach. The tapes are very fragile and get little marks in them easily from being bent just from the slightest touch. This process was tedious.

IMG_0881.JPG

IMG_0886.JPG

More and more progress was beign made and the art started becoming almost 3D.

IMG_0890.JPG

IMG_0892.JPG

And, there we are! But wait, next came the photography.

DSC_4699.JPG

DSC_4700.JPG

I composited these two images to make the one background image at the top of this page. Taking that, I masked and blended a photo I took of my cat:

DSC_4662.JPG

And, Voila! We have the final piece!

storybird Whisper.jpg

Thank you to everyone who checked this piece out. I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below! #whisper

Other images:

DSC_4695.1.jpg

You can see the dimension of the tape over the white background.

DSC_4696.JPG

You can see the contrast of the lines from the tape.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67