Whittling A Fella In A Window

in #whittling4 years ago

Whittling, only with an imagination, a pencil and a flecut carving knife, I was able to turn this little piece of scrapwood into something kind of cool.

This video shows the how the layers of wood are taken off to get the fella out of his window:

The picture below is the idea:

IMG_4546.JPG

These images show what will be cut from the sides and the knife I'll be using.

IMG_4547.JPG

IMG_4548.JPG

flexcutknife.JPG

And below, are the pictures as they happened:

I began by marking out my walls and areas that would protrude, such as the head, hands and shelf. I do this so I don't forget it when the drawing is gone.

IMG_4550.JPG

IMG_4551.JPG

Careful not to cut your finger. Just a little bit of pressure can go in a long ways with this knife. Fortunately, this was only a nick.

IMG_4555.JPG

Here you can see I've removed the background and redrawn my lines.

IMG_4557.JPG

IMG_4559.JPG

Next, I find the fella

IMG_4565.JPG

Gotta go in a bit deeper to bring him out and shape the window.

IMG_4569.JPG

The final knife phase (before I clean it up with chisels) looks like this

windowhittle.jpg

Not too shabby for a first.

And once I set that one aside, I messed around with this one

funstick.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61955.50
ETH 2904.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71