Wood Wizard in A Branch

in #whittling4 years ago

I often get asked, "What's the best wood to whittle?" My answer is always, "Any wood that isn't going to ruin your blade or be unsafe."

By ruining your blade I mean obstacles such as nails or a wood such as hickory that'll need more force to cut. I'll also watch for pieces that crumble or have knots.

My favorite wood to whittle is basswood (is what it's called in the U.S.) It's a hardwood that's soft and holds the details well. But the reality is...

No wood is safe from the blade - Unless it's still living. I won't cut up a live tree.

On this morning's walk with the pup, I noticed this pile of branches in the driveway. I don't know why they're there, or piled up like that, but it's wood and it's got something in it.

woodpile.JPG

I pulled out a branch, finished walking the pup and grabbed my pocketknife. I like to test the piece before I go digging my flexcut carving knife into it.

After some cleaning up and a few cuts here and there, a wood spirit began to take shape.

branchwoodwizard.JPG

And when done, this fella showed himself.

woodwizardinbranch.JPG

So yeah... Any wood that isn't going to give you a bad day whittling is good wood to whittle.

Sort:  

Congratulations @fredacker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @fredacker! You received a personal award!

Thank you for the witness votes you made to support your Steem community and for keeping the Steem blockchain decentralized

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71