Take The Pressure Off (why so needy?)

in #whysoserious6 years ago

Twitter (Best) steemit.png

© Westley Nash (2016)


I wrote this... Thought?... Joke?.. Let's call it a humourously represented observation ;-) after first using Twitter for a few months. I'm sure anyone who is familiar with Twitter must have encountered this kind of person at some time or another. Where soon after you follow them (particularly when you follow back after they have followed you) within minutes your inbox lights up. So you open it and find yourself greeted by a lengthy, auto-generated reply which is furiously urging you to turn on notifications, be an active follower and to subscribe to all of their other social media accounts etc. etc.. etc...

Stewie.gif

I've read a lot of blogs and reports on "Twitter Etiquette" and these tactics are often vilified among the experts, but some users are utterly convinced that it's encouraging interaction from people. Personally I think it risks pushing those people away rather than encouraging them to interact. Whenever I receive a message like this, I can't help but think "Alright, easy there buddy, can we back up a little!" as it comes across as rather imposing and needy, to the point where I'm more than likely to unfollow them than anything else. I've seen the same exact thing on other social media platforms too and to be honest, I think this tends to happen when we develop an unhealthy obsession with gaining as many followers, comments and likes as we can possibly muster (at all costs!) rather than on building our franchise or developing our content. Sure, as content creators we all want that exposure and we all like our work to receive feedback, but I just don't think that harrassing and hounding people is the best way to accomplish that... Just my two pennies worth ;-)

#thoughtsofsteel


Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and view my content, I am most honoured indeed and hope you have a really great day :)

Best wishes
Westley xx


You can also find me here:

YouTube
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter
DeviantArt
Deep Underground Poetry

STEEM MINNOW BANNER.gif

Sort:  

I have no clue who 99.9% of my twitter followers are?
Facevook apart from marketing I abandoned as a human being a long time ago and have 100's of 'friends' request's pending!?

We see the same 'type' of person joining steemit and immediately they are following 5000 steemians lol

On all websites we find people with 1,000's even millions of followers and yet when they tweet or post they get zip, zero or nada engagement?

That tells us that this method doesn't work. And as you say Westley. It just turns people off.

Unsolicited DM's to me. Get the kiss of death from me.
Haha it's a great game for sure. I derive much amusement from watching these social media maniacs.

I only follow people whose content interests me. My time is to precious to waste.

I was going to write a post about this very subject. Thanks Westley now I don't have to. It's here lol

PS just subbed to you on youtube lol don't feel obliged to sub back. I've abandoned youtube too. ;)

I know what you mean, I see people on YouTube with 1k to 5k subscribers and yet their videos gain maybe 100 views maximum; yet others with maybe 300 to 500 subs have videos with 1k plus views. Even on my own YouTube channel I've seen the sub count rise but the views have not reflected that rise, where poeple just subscribe on a whim or in hopes you'll subscribe back. I will always be an unapologetic, outspoken critic of Sub4Sub because I've never see such a strategy work. I'm the same, I follow people whose content I like and who I see works hard at what they do.

I'll happily subscribe back to you sir, I know that if you make content it's always good :-)

Yep subscriber count is meaningless.
My youtube channel gets over 11,000 watch time minutes per 28 days and I have less than 400 subs?
99% of my views are from non-subscribers.

I also get a lot of views on steemit from non steemit users with no marketing as such.

For me, I have to blog on what I find interesting. Others may find it interesting too.
If the audience is not there that is not my primary concern or goal.

That I enjoyed the 'content creation process' is really what matters to me.

I enjoy writing, taking photos and making and editing videos. It's just what I do, like some people go fishing or play sports.

I make content primarily for my own entertainment and usually with a bit of educational value tucked in there somewhere. :)
I'm a teacher and I can't stop lol

I think that's the best way in all honesty. They say that if we enjoy what we create, if we hold passion in our work, that this energy is soon felt by those who watch, view or listen. I follow loads of people on YouTube and comment all the time, but rarely ever get anything in return. But to me that is absolutely fine, because I enjoy their content. Not everything has to be a "quid pro quo", sometimes it's nice to just enjoy the art :-)

I'm right there with you, it is a turn off when you get that in your inbox. I've gotten tons of stuff like that via comments on YouTube too. And even a few on here, where they give you a generic reply followed by a plug for you follow them or read their blog.

It usually causes me to run the other way. As to where had they just posted like any other person, I most likely would have gone to check their profile out on my own.

Totally. No one likes to feel like their just being corralled and the disingenuous comments simply add insult! I have people on YouTube commenting with "Nice video!" and then expect me to follow them and be active on their videos (as if I owe them for their interaction or something) It's the most generic comment anyone could put, because on YouTube, there are only videos and nothing else lol ;-)

If someone tends to be repeatedly active then I always chack them out. If I like their content then I will also check them out; but I'm long since done with the sub4sub, follow4follow malarkey.

Same goes here in steemit. I see a lot of people asking to be followed and upvoted and resteemed. I think it's the same with other sites. We will always encounter people like that.

I think you're right :-) I see on YouTube a lot of people desperately trying to pressure people into watching their videos; but it rarely works.

I agree completely! I try to check out everyone I follow, and certainly peruse their feeds before I follow back. And, I make it a habit to check out their other posted social media links or shares – but on my own. I don’t like feeling it’s an expectation or harassed into it. And, I absolutely loathe being told to do something I’m already doing too! That will always inspire the urge to just drop everything right then and there.

Totally :-) If I like someones content then I will likely follow them on other platforms, to keep up to date with their releases. But if they get too pushy then I tend to give them a wide swerve ;-)

Same here. In fact, on the Twitter account I maintain for WE PAW Bloggers group on FB, I’ve muted the DMs altogether.

Haha. I literally haven't checked my DM's for more than a year. I have no idea what is in there ... all those marriage proposals will have to be chalked up to bad timing and even worse delivery:):):)

lol :-) I certainly would rush to look anytime soon ;-)

Lol. Run a couple accounts myself on Twitter. My favorite are the ones that try and make it seem like it's a personal message, not an auto-responder from the follow or like. 'Hey, thanks for following me. I love your account too! ....'

The absolute best is when they make a spelling mistake (on purpose) and follow it up with a correction...to make it seem like there's actually a person sending it. All of it automated. A complete turn-off to follow them or help them.

Auto messages are cool...especially when you're trying to grow your account, but there's a limit to what people will put up with in terms of BS.

I just saw an awesome IG from Gary V. He was talking to this young kid about social media. Told him to not ever focus on the number...just the content. But, society says it's the number that matters...even though you can buy as many as you want. Messed up, that's what it is, hehe.

Be well! :)

Absolutely, numbers seem to be the holy grail of social media. I just have to wonder if interaction is more valuable; well to me it is anyway ;-)

I think that if we make someone feel undervalued, as if they are simply a means to an end, that's when the auto-messages can work against us. I fear some people forget that it's "social" media; in that people actually talk to each other.

Engagement is where it's at...but business is usually a couple of years behind comprehension. Took them forever to get on social media, then to figure out the basics...now they're like, 'followers!'

As for social media being social...it really isn't. Most of it is self-promotion in one form or another. And, most of what we used is actually just a marketing platform dressed up in a social media platform. What we see has nothing to do with what we think it does...what we're shown is what an algorithm thinks we want to see... brilliant and also completely self destructive in a society of social creatures who thrive on creating insular communities but need to be constantly diversifying.

Facebook's algorithm is a nightmare! I'm seeing posts from some of my friends that are 2 days old, because some computer system thinks I want to see some other nonsense first ;-) Thankfully I still have some social interactions with my friends on Facebook, but there does seem to be more advertising and business promotions taking the lions share of the attention these days. I have a page on Facebook and organic growth has dropped through the floor! But of course, Facebook are on hand ready to boost your posts and advertise your page to a wider audience (for a price of course)

Plus since they have taken over instagram the feeds are doing the same, where I miss days of uploads from people I follow. You suddenly think "I haven't seen anything from john lately!" You check their profile and have several new uploads. It's frustrating to say the least. So you are right, the social element is quickly being erased.

Yeah, I hear that complaint from my parents all the time. They never know what I'm posting bc FB won't show them until it wants to. And paying for your own friends to see your posts that they want to see anyways is ridiculous. And how they F*ed up Instagram...it's all about the money for them. I barely post there anymore. Usually I stick to IG stories and post my videos. People seem to like that, hehe.

Any place where people gather and try and create a community, commercial interests will follow and try and take advantage of the most human of conditions, the desire to connect.

Very true, the beating heart of an out of control capitalism ;-)

People are funny. Its like the "marriage proposals" usually from a male in some third world place saying how he loves the woman whom he has no clue as to her name LOL

That's very true indeed :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69394.55
ETH 3894.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73