Assange in isolation for 7 days: the first time I ever had desire to go to England

in #wikileaks6 years ago

I am an avid traveler but I have never even thought of visiting England, the gray droopy formal place that I imagine it to be. I have never even had the slightest desire to travel to England until 7 days ago, when I heard about Julian Assange's isolation. That is, not just the isolation from being under the sun outside, not the isolation from being together with his family but even a more cruel one. For 7 days he has been cut off from any and all communications with the world. Not too long ago, the world gasped at the revelations that his website Wikileaks published and not too long ago there was a larger visible solidarity for what he does. But this has changed under the thumb of those on top who are so afraid for their soiled image in the public eye. They are afraid that they won't have the support of as many people anymore and have overreached even their own power to keep themselves in status quo. 

This wonderful article by Elizabeth Lea Vos describes the support situation of Julian Assange. It is beautiful to read words of such heroes who survived persecution just for doing what they thought was right to prevent war. Truly, the privilege of not having been persecuted for speaking my mind is a kind of privilege I have not thought about before. Maybe people who attack him would behave differently and if they stopped and examined that privilege. 

I watched the ruptly live feed of the Ecuadorian embassy where Julian Assange is spending the asylum during the first day of the isolation and, for the first time, I wanted to go to England. I wanted to go to England just so that I could join his supporters and stand with them in solidarity. Alas, the least I can do is write this post and include this link to sign the petition to #reconnectJulian

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66996.44
ETH 3098.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72