THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS VIDEO SERIES - EPISODE 35 - COMMON HOUSE GECKO

in #wild-man7 years ago

This is another common gecko in the south that is not native to the United States.


In fact, this little nocturnal gecko can now be found all around the world in warmer climates, although it is originally native to only Southeast Asia.

The Common House Gecko (Hemidactylus frenatus) will usually run away from humans who find them. Since they hide during the day and come out at night to feed, their contact with most native animals is far less that if they were a daytime reptile. When grabbed, the small lizard will often bite, and may even lose its tail as a defense mechanism.

These beautiful little lizards feed mostly on insects, and can often be seen at night on the outside walls of buildings near lights, waiting for bugs to come flying in. They only grow about six inches long, and it is believed that they can live for about five years. For more on this incredible lizard, check out the video below.

The information is the video is original but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 35

COMMON HOUSE GECKO


If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make this series!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-common-house-gecko



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

What a cutepie! :D

I came across one yesterday night and killed it without recognizing its cuteness. I must be wicked :)

Why do you kill them? they don't hurt anybody...

They don't bite but their skin is poisonous. IF it falls in water tank or anything e.g. crockery , it's highly recommended to wash it thoroughly before using it.

I like the way that they look.

Great information. Thanks for sharing with us.

Stunning @papa-pepper
I enjoy it. Thank you for sharing and i'll be waiting your best next.

"Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com" agree

Great post I think is the type we had in our place in Singapore quite cute really and great and dealing with any little

We have these little creatures living in our house. We love them because they eat the mosquitoes and flies. There is one little one who comes to visit me while I work at the computer. He sometimes sits on my mouse hand while I work. We've named him Jorge.

OMG papa How can you hold them in your hand. They do so Creepy. Your are a real wild man. Respect Your Work and Dedication. Great Post. Have a Nice Day. ☺

They guys can't even hurt you, so I am not that brave this time.

Lol @papa-pepper is likely brave when he hold a snake or a more dangerous animal in his hand. I would have been brave as you papa but growing up i didn't get to relate with most of this animal and now they are like terror to me

Awesome post dear friend :))

I tried to catch this little lizard when I was hiking the other day. I could't catch that little guy if I tried. So Fast! I am impressed with how you are able to catch these little guys and keep the tail. #ninjaskills

#ninjaskills - and a lot of practice!

Hello @papa-pepper, the yellow spots on the gecko, is it something rough? I found it quite bizarre!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61113.33
ETH 2927.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69