The apex predators are not as bad as some might believe

in #wildlife6 years ago (edited)

Apex predators are awesome!!! Its been my experience with various people from all walks of life that they want to encounter the big, bad predators the most when exploring the natural world. In Antarctica there are two main apex predators - 1) Orca & 2) Leopard seal.


THE LEOPARD SEAL


IMG_2771.jpg

Click Image to view full size.


IMG_4964.jpg

A curious Leopard seal heard my zodiac and lifted his head to investigate.
Click image to view full size.


However, are the vicious predator as bad as the image is portrayed? They do eat penguins and I understand the well known fact that everyone does love penguins. I get it. They are cute. The stumble around. yep, cute. The first few times I encountered them that is exactly what I though ~ cute. The 10,000th time I encountered them not quite as cute as my initial interactions.

However, 50 - 80% of their diet is actually KRILL!!! I know!?!? It typically does surprise a lot of people to know that this apex predator that dramatically eats those cute penguins primarily feeds on a small shrimp looking animal. It appears the stalking of penguins & their colonies only occurs during the summer, as they are in large congregated numbers, which would appear to be easy meal option for the seal. Not as bad as some might have perceived them to be with majority of their time eating something other than penguins.


I guess those penguins are not only cute but they must be tasty too...


IMG_3419.jpg

the big reptilian head that is a Leopard seal.
Click image to view full size.


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

Seals and penguins are both cute, and both colonies stink to high heaven. I guess cute is done with the eyes, not the nose!

agreed! When they are in large colonies into the 1,000s.. the smell does seep into your clothes and your soul. I have smelt it in my dreams from time to time.

They dip in the water so shouldn't that clean themselves?

That is half the smell, the oils that protect them from the water.

Hehe I agree totally with you Cute is based up on the looks definitely not the smell. Bwek those seals really smell... :P

he is soooo cute...

Quality post, take an upvote from me! I am a huge nerd when it comes to nature and ecology, so I always get a smile out of learning something new about it here on Steemit. You wrote an informative article and included some stunning photography, which serves as a reminder just how amazing our planet is and why it is crucial that we protect it whenever we can. This image is just a snapshot in time of one ecosystem on Earth out of millions that is in danger. Again, thank you for such a breathtaking post, God bless.

great pictures, the food chain sounds very short from what you're saying. I had no idea seals ate penguins!

There is nothing beautiful than nature

Well, he may be a predator. He's beautiful and fierce at the same time . I don't believe I've ever heard of this type " Leopard Seal " Outstanding photo here! And I even learned something too! Thanks

My son loved this article~ thank you for the educational piece and the gorgeous pics, cheers!

thanks! Im stoked he liked it :)

penguins are much cuter then Seals but i like them both :)

so informative post. they are so cute. the images are perfectly captured too. nice.

"However, are the vicious predator as bad as the image is portrayed? They do eat penguins and I understand the well known fact that everyone does love penguins. I get it. They are cute. The stumble around. yep, cute. The first few times I encountered them that is exactly what I though ~ cute. The 10,000th time I encountered them not quite as cute as my initial interactions."
I like them alot but not opportuned to interact with any. On the other hand this was a nice post.

I would love to know why penguins would be thought of as "... not quite cute as my initial interactions..."

the smell. My first initial interaction was a high - you get slightly use to them after a few thousand times and you don't get the same high as you did the first few times

Okay thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10