Review: Dr. Beckermann Rheinhessen Liebfraumilch

in #wine6 years ago

After the red wine fiasco last week I decided to go back to my typical white wines. As soon as I opened this wine, Dr. Beckermann's Liebfraumilch, I tasted the sweet and crisp flavors that are a true part of my wheelhouse when it comes to wine. No more lip puckering tannic acids. No more sour and harsh flavors that are found in red wines. It comes in a tall bottle that has a twist cap which means that I don't need a wine opener.

Liebfraumilch means "the virgin's milk" and I believe it's named after a church in the area. It's a subtype of Riesling, which is a white wine variety I'm not exactly familiar with but I know it's German. Since alcohol is a toxin I'm surprised that this wine is made by a doctor, but apparently this is common in Germany.

I enjoy the sweet and crisp flavors of this wine a lot. It reminds me of Pinot Grigio although I know the grape variety is different. At 9% alcohol, I don't feel tired after drinking it unlike with red wines or the more alcohol rich varieties of wine.
This is a very high quality wine and I would get it any time. I would say it tastes better than Charles Shaw's Pinot Grigio in that it has more smooth and less harsh flavors. It's definitely way smoother than the Chuck. However it is more expensive at $3.99.

Next time when I want to venture into Spanish wines with the La Granja brand I'm going to stick to the Verdejo Viura whites. I don't want to be a wine bigot but I really can't get used to white wine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82