Splitting Wood For The Cold Days That Will Come

in #winter6 years ago

IMG_20180913_130021586_HDR.jpg

Yes, I got to work a little on my splitting wood. Actually this firewood I might use in 2020. I have other firewood that is older and dryer to use for this year's winter.

It is always good to have wood for the future winters too, that way the supply is always high.

I use a maul that was given to me years or maybe even decades ago. You see I had a friend that had to leave a ranch and he couldn't take it all with him.

He told me to take his maul. I didn't even know it was a maul. I thought is was an ax, but after wanting to learn how to split wood the right way, I started looking at videos of people splitting wood with a maul.

Then I tried it somewhere around later 2017 I believe. Well, I was concerned about splitting wood the wrong way. I really didn't want to accidentally hurt myself with that maul.

As with all chores some things are easier than others. With splitting wood some pieces are easier then others. Like on some pieces of wood you barely have to hit it with the maul and it splits.

Then other pieces you have hit it many times just to get a little crack form. Well, it is all good exercise. Best to always be safe when doing it.

It always seemed to me that I would get firewood for free. People would ask me if I wanted some firewood. I would always say, yes.

Even before I got my old 91 Chevy S10 pickup back in early 2014. I would just load wood up in my small 89 Nissan Sentra. Of course with a small car like that you can only hold so much firewood in the trunk, but I did do that.

When I did get my Chevy pickup I started to go through the Craigslist Free Ads looking for free firewood. There is always people for some reason trying to get rid of some firewood.

It does take a lot of energy to load wood in a pickup, then to unload will take a lot of energy also.

The main thing is that all these things are worth it, to have a nice warm fire on a cold winter day.

If you enjoyed this blog please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

Excelente post, amigo, @david777111. Mis saludos.

Great preparing for the cold winter ahead!:)

Congratulations @david777111! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

interesante tema disftute tu post sigueme y dejame un voto hare lo mismo por ti.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95