The Art of Arguing

in #wisdom6 years ago (edited)

amazing-animal-beautiful-beautifull.jpg

I received a complement the other day, just a random comment on one of my other posts. @finnian said that I argue very well, and that got me thinking.

I've never been formally trained in debate, and the logical fallacies (formal and informal) have been something that I've studied in passing. I admit that when I think on things, on any issue, I am mainly running on instinct or maybe even what we can call wisdom. But the complement got me thinking, what is it that allows anyone to make good arguments?

Personally, I think it's due to three personal principles of thought that I staunchly adhere to.

First, I accept that I may be wrong. In fact, I actually welcome it! After all, if we don't question our beliefs, we cannot dig into the very heart of our own thinking. What am I thinking? Why am I thinking that? Where does it come from? When I mercilessly and forensically examine my beliefs I often find that the beliefs are erroneous in three ways:

a) I accepted them at face value, without direct, first hand experiences to tell me otherwise;
b) The belief had been 'implanted' in me by guilt trips, etc;
c) I believed something due to social pressures, without a thorough examination of its facts.

Here is the nexus of #belief and #guilt. Often, when I'm wrong I feel guilty. I highlighted a little about guilt here in another post of mine.

Guilt for being wrong. This is perhaps the second biggest guilt behind anything relating to our bodies is the guilt we feel when we are accused of being wrong about something - anything! This is accompanied by a feeling of worthlessness. A subset of this guilt is feeling guilty about the need to ask for help (this is a personal struggle of mine!)

Second, I have fostered #love for all #humanity in my heart. Charisma on Command highlights the common ground we should seek to find in arguments in a recent video. I have a firm belief (whether that is right or wrong remains to be seen) that people are, in a very general way, seeking truth and happiness. I keep that in mind when arguing any point, and try to avoid marginalizing anyone's fears.

And finally, the third thing I've determined which helps in making good arguments is remembering what Sadguru Sant Keshavadas said in his treatise about the Gayatri meditation:

Intellect, will, and emotion are the ruling factors in a human being. Intellect leads to knowledge, will leads to selflessness, and emotion leads to love. For knowledge to become wisdom, it should be backed by love; for love to be divine, it should be guided by wisdom. Both should lead our will towards selflessness.

Namaste.

The truth does not abide by my wishes. The #truth simply is.

If you like this content, please consider an upvote and a resteem. Or, at the very least a comment and upvote. I am steadily trying to build up this Steemit blog since I am middle aged, and generally uneducated (well I should say STATE uneducated - I have a lot of self education!), and cannot work on my feet for long hours. Please help me make an honest living here by providing you great content! I have a lot of wisdom to share <3

Sort:  

Sara, I love this! If we are true to our desire to grow and learn what is really true, then learning what is actually true far outweighs any need to be right.

Thanks for the mention. Without GINAbot, I would not have known. I especially love the ending about how the truth simply is. That's true. All we can do is point it out whether others accept it or not.

I guess I need to check out ginabot. @finnian, do you have a link to that information? Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62500.50
ETH 2936.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59