A Word To The Wise - "Be A Fountain, Not A Drain"

in #wisdom6 years ago (edited)

It's convenient to be attracted to the short-term benefits of taking from the rewards pool.

Competitive nature can also often erode values and long-term goals.

However, here's a simple message from a former major league baseball player that I appreciate and wanted to share.

"Be a fountain, not a drain." - Rex Hudler


I feel that this mindset can help make Steemit a better place for everyone to increase retention, adoption and our appeal to new businesses.

If you agree, please share your thoughts, and let's spread this message instead of finding things to blame.

I also just found a new minnow's human being's intro post to give a 100% upvote to without any doubt that it was the best use of my voting power. Perhaps it made their Steemit day. Give it a try.

Thanks,
@steemmatt

(Stay tuned for more simple positive messages going forward.)

Sort:  

I think I see the potential for a new game here.

Who said it? Rex Hudler or Confucius?

Seriously, the perfect message.

Man, you repeatedly bring me back from the edge of Steemit retirement. Thank you very much. It means a lot. It's like you have radar.

Trying to rationalize with some on this topic hasn't gotten me anywhere but less support. I figured it was time to try a new tone to try to relate to those who agree, versus get through to those who don't.

Oh man. That is VERY wise. I never thought of putting it like.

Your attitude, determination and desire to help others is exactly what should be rewarded here. That is what will bring value to this platform in the long run.

Just wanted to say thank you and let you know that the music post you suggested I make got upvoted by curie.

Of course! That's awesome, as that's not easy to get. I've only gotten one of those votes twice. Now you're on their radar and obligated to post more music.

This is so true, I try to upvote good post. I have found several people that consistently are putting out very good post and I love to follow them and watch there progress and upvote. I will give a shameless plug to @makinstuff he has excellent post's. If we just take, we are defeating ourselves steemit will not grow....
resteemed!!

I appreciate the tip on your friend. I'm following him now as I'm a big fan of DIY stuff. Thank you.

Wise words and I learned a lot from this post. I wish we'll see more of a fountain here.

Our drops make ripples, and those ripples together eventually make waves.

Mother Theresa. "I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the water to create many ripples."

Such wise words @steemmatt 😊 I'm a newbie here and I believe that if this community will only come together, we'll be able to improve and develop the potentials this platform have.

You can't go wrong with a perfect quote from Mother Theresa. Thanks for sharing and welcome to the platform. Keep in touch.

That's such a worthy message! I believe I will incorporate that into my life on a daily basis.

You are a very nice person. Are... are... are you my first disciple??!!

Why thank you! And yes...perhaps I am lol

I try to be a fountain,
we need to look after Steemit and not ruin it :)


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Thank you very much for discovering, supporting and resteeming my posts recently. Following you now to stay tuned.

Nice words.. agreed..

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. Happy to hear.

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61