Expanding the witness server setup

Today was a busy day working on an e-mail migration, but fortunately I found some time to finish my new server.


When we, @blockbrothers, set up our very first witness server two days ago, I wanted some peace of mind in knowing the witness account would be put on standby if the server would crash. When we get some income out of witnessing, we can then invest in a backup server and arrange for seemless failover capabilities. This requires some kind of monitoring server and luckily I had some spare hardware lying around (which used to be my custom built NAS). Anyways, I had re-used the case for another project, so I ordered a shiny new rackmount case (this was on my wishlist for long, but now I had an actual excuse to spend the money).

I started off like this, but that's not really a permanent solution:

IMG_3430.JPG

Then this arrived in the mail today (yay!):

IMG_3474.JPG

Off to work...

IMG_3475.JPG

...aaaand result!

IMG_3480.JPG

And it is now off my desk, and into the rack.

IMG_3481.JPG
Yes, it's a mess. I need to clean it up some day...


I'm lucky to have a stable fiber internet connection at home (100/100Mbit), so I can rest assured our servers are monitored 24/7. One of the perks of living in a densely populated area in The Netherlands I guess.


Follow



Please vote here for @blockbrothers as witness




Sort:  

Thank you for sharing, I wish you a success always in the move

Congratulations on your new server. It looks very complicated, but I know you know what you are doing, so it's okay!

Thanks! Looks more complicated than it actually is though 😅

wahou. Some geeky here :)

I'm hosting my witness on a simple VPS with scaleway :)

lol, yes, guilty as charged :)
This is just for local development and monitoring of our other servers (witness, Steemify, etc.). The actual witness server is hosted at privex.

oh boy, privex is little bit costly for me. I'm using a little server with 8Go + some swap.
At active rank 101, it's running smoothly

Sharing the costs between the 4 of us makes it more bearable I guess.

I was actually wondering how it would run on specs like that. Seems to me it should run fine with correctly configured swap and SSD's. Well done!

You have my vote !

And you have mine! Thanks!

It's a long story, but your progress reminds me of my past. Congratulations! By the way this work never ends. I hope you enjoy it or you make enough to hire the cleanup done for you.

Hahaha, thanks! I actually don't mind to do it, but the other @blockbrothers keep throwing new projects at me like mental :)

Congratulations @bennierex! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67780.64
ETH 3792.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63