Monday School: Steemit's Easiest Witness Setup Guide

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

TL;DR

Guided Steemit Witness Node Install Script ...

Up in under 10 minutes or your money BACK!

(Does NOT include block download & replay time)

Drop-In Steps

$ ssh user@<your_ip>

$ git clone https://github.com/Someguy123/steem-docker
$ cd steem-docker
$ rm run.sh
$ curl https://gist.githubusercontent.com/archiehtuttle/4e85ed007a9da47a7edb7fd0f2cee8fd/raw/740da42d7b913914640cb12b013cb40268f8933d/run.sh > run.sh; chmod +x run.sh

Test with 2 lines ...

Login

$ ssh user@<your_ip>

$ git clone https://github.com/Someguy123/steem-docker; cd steem-docker; rm run.sh; curl https://gist.githubusercontent.com/archiehtuttle/4e85ed007a9da47a7edb7fd0f2cee8fd/raw/740da42d7b913914640cb12b013cb40268f8933d/run.sh > run.sh; chmod +x ./run.sh; ./run.sh install_docker; exit

(Docker Install Requires a Logout)

NO one-liners, sadface right?

Login 2

$ ssh user@<your_ip>

$ cd steem-docker;./run.sh install;./run.sh start;./run.sh d_steempy;./run.sh d_conductor;./run.sh d_witness_setup

Install with 2 lines!

Login

$ ssh user@<your_ip>

$ git clone https://github.com/Someguy123/steem-docker; cd steem-docker; rm run.sh; curl https://gist.githubusercontent.com/archiehtuttle/4e85ed007a9da47a7edb7fd0f2cee8fd/raw/740da42d7b913914640cb12b013cb40268f8933d/run.sh > run.sh; chmod +x run.sh;./run.sh install_docker; exit

Login 2

$ ssh user@<your_ip>

$ cd steem-docker;./run.sh install;./run.sh replay;./run.sh d_steempy;./run.sh d_conductor;./run.sh d_witness_setup

Compatibility

  • In an attempt remain compatible for support purposes, this replacement remains true to the original.

  • All the standard functions continue to operate as expected.

Bonus

The following features have been added:

  • ./run.sh d_smash - stop and removes all containers (docker)
  • ./run.sh d_steempy - install steempy (docker)
  • ./run.sh d_conductor - install conductor (docker)
  • ./run.sh d_piston - install piston (docker)
  • ./run.sh d_witness_setup - setup witness (docker)
  • ./run.sh d_witness_update - update witness parameters (docker)
  • ./run.sh d_witness_init - initialize witness (docker)
  • ./run.sh d_witness_enable - enable witness (docker)
  • ./run.sh d_witness_disable - disable witness (docker)

Disclaimer

Tested on Debi Stretch, ought to work with Ubuntu Xenial also.

There's more than a few reasons (not worth mentioning in this post) I'm not currently running a live node nor do I think I will anytime soon.

I'm sharing this because recently I invested an ENORMOUS amount of time trying to help someone out, unnecessarily. The software supporting your reading of this right now is NOT crafted of some strange, esoteric black art which only those of greatness can access. It's Open Source Software!


Originally, I put together some code scripts for a native install (always seems like a good place to start) one-liner but ... over time I learned that most users don't really care about diversity or decentralization or even much of an understanding of what they are working with or what kind of responsibility it might become.

Thus, I back ported those efforts to support the well adored SIAB aka "Steemit in a Box"!

Credit

I genuinely want to thank some of the witnesses who were actually respectful and knowledgeable while offering guidance and/or clarification. I hope this post will spare them some burden!

In no order:
@l0k1
@someguy123
@gandalf
@timcliff
@reggaemuffin
@furion
and of course the guy who dragged me into this all ... and got me back on teh yunk!
@yunkzilla

(If I didn't mention you, I'm still thankful!)

If this helped you out, follow tip me @cayce

Sort:  

Your work, time, and due diligence is much appreciated.

I always try to share my knowledge as well.
Spread #yunk like peanut butter.

I once walked someone through in a private SteemIt.chat how to set up a mining rig from start to finish.

People really appreciate when others share their craft because even though it may be easy to 'us' it seems like astrophysics to 'them'.

Thanks so much for the kind words @crypto2day!

Unless I see actualization, I'm not inclined to buy into "appreciation" on #steemit.


Until then #steemit is just another interesting data set to further my research! ;)

In the end, I'm not contributing to #steemit for $$$, I just think it's a great vehicle to allow the masses to taste crypto. For me, this "gateway crypto" helping to push along decentralized $$$ is #steemit 's greatest value.

I genuinely do my best to avoid "us/them" as, we all bleed the same. Anyone who thinks otherwise ought find more exposure to the world around them. I (like any other) was much less versed in the technical matters at one point. MANY have come before me; a few have taken taken me under their wing, sharing selflessly. The only thing I know to do with the gifts they shared with me is to return the favor by sharing them with others. Any knowhow, "astrophysics" or "voodoo" I MIGHT possess is in fact NOT mine but rather, the collective creation of many. IMHO, taking personal credit is just plain ignorant.

As the adage goes; no good deed goes unpunished ...

The "reward" for my efforts to date? A narcissistic self anointed "expert" trying their best to bring me down by calling me names ... on teh internets?!? o'rly? "poor me" huh? lulz so hawd!

I'm pleased with my achievements to date on #steemit and elsewhere ...

The best part of ANY accomplishment/experience?

No one can take them away from us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72