You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Witnesses Relevant Today?

Yes, but also because we're decentralised here the obligation to provide a comprehensive FAQ and how-to for noobs falls into nobody's hands!

And then all geeks come down stomping on people, who struggle to understand the basics of steem blockchain or simply don't know how to find the right info.

I love decentralisation, but every stick has two ends unfortunately!

Sort:  

If by ""all geeks" you are referring to me, well, I filmed and published on dTube and Skillshare a "Steemit 101" 30 minutes course, I have in my signature, always, links to more than 10 articles about the Steem blockchain and I do my best to respond personally to all Steem related inquiries (as you could see from the screenshot above). I do this constantly as I firmly believe this is part of my role, as witness.

If newcomers see a text like this: "Pssst, new to Steemit?" and then a link "Start here", but they don't even bother to click on it, whose responsibility is this?

Maybe there is a certain reluctancy from some geeks to do this like I do it, constantly, but that doesn't mean newcomers have to take everything for granted and not even bother to read the white paper. It's the most basic things of all: read the fucking white paper, because you are on a blockchain-based website, which has everything lined up from its inception. Not like Facebook or Twitter, who don't have anything like that, and who are stealing your personal data.

I will agree to disagree with you on the comment above: there is not stick. There are just two kinds of people: folks who realize they are confused and struggle to get out of it, by educating themselves, and sleepwalkers.

No, I meant the other ones, cause you're actually making an effort to guide the noobs through complicated reality of steem blockchain.

Ok, let's take the example of White Paper, which I read, and it does provide the answers to basic questions, but it doesn't address the practical issues of working with blockchain... and obviously it doesn't address the politics on steemit.

But I can bet 90% of newcomers don't even know that there's such a thing as White Paper, and that's the problem IMO!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86