Recovering Witness - 🚧 In Progress!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

I finally decided to revive my Witness...
Now that I run on a new water cooled system (experimental).

The Hive!

(code name, H1V3)

A glimplse of convection experiment. The tower-based convection makes huge air flow. Only HUGE fans would make it better... So, all going great!

The new NAS is running PERFECT!

A 64GB 8-core NAS, summing +100 days of (24/7) runtime already... not YET water cooled by the Hive. But I have some plans for multiple systems water cooling, so... You just wait!

Why am I running a Witness and what is my objective?

To start, I only trust the code I compile. Therefore, my need to run it personally.

Secondly, I wish to start experimenting with some projects I have in mind. Those will be based on STEEM, EOS and ETH (for now). Nothing new ok! Just some fun... and because I eventually need to play with deep stuff, which for me is the only route for going down the code.

Status

It's synchronizing...

Comparing with other blockchains... the STEEM blockchain synchronization speed is INSANE! Looks like 2 threads are the busiest ones and making most of the processing... but still very optimized. Imagine this kind of stuff optimized to run with MPI code... Would Be AWESOME with unlimited scalability! I mean... the log file as it is going does millisecond based per block processed (and I have SSDs not NVMes, yet!). So, comparing with my last experience with it... plenty of improvements.

I am continuing watching @SteemFest remaining talks... and I am so eager for the new modular way of STEEM! Can't wait for that... that is the main motivation why I am restarting things up.

Stay tuned...

and support other awesome plans around steemit (I usually try to resteem those). I am just a simple enthusiast that tries to have fun and discover new technology.

Next?

Several... but let's enumerate:

  1. The Hive experiments are going awesomely well! And I have learned a lot with it... convection really plays an important job here... But I will later publish a post about the details of it. Maybe this time I will try to bring some more of the experience for anyone feeling attracted to it.
  2. On STEEM... After the docker synchronises and I get in synch with the latest news about "how to run" a steemd node. I will bring an update to my witness (more seriously I hope... but I will tell you when).
  3. Being a Storage and Filesystem guy, I really wish to know and find more applications of distributed filesystems. I am fortunate to know deeply the best solution for HPC, but for distributed filesystems, I still feel there is so much road to yet build. Come and let me know if you have anything worth public attention. I will be just one... of them.




Produce quality SteemCATAPOOM!
RESTEEM if you wish to show others what you have learned... and,
VOTE for Witnesses

Sort:  

LOL! Nice!!! You know we were talking about starting a smartcash witness on steemit! I also changed my mind about selling my STEEM. I powered it all back up and stopped powering down :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68031.50
ETH 3788.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68