You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Explaining the STEEM Blockchain Freeze of July 2nd, 2018

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

So, the blockchain froze as the consensus was lost. This is a good thing then, which means that it did what it was supposed to do, right? Except the fact that buggy part of the software did allow the input of wrong value the rest went as it is supposed to……………. that’s good to know. Maybe you are one of the few witnesses that I follow so this the only post in my feed that gave me a level of assurance as to what went down wasn’t anything lethal.

Although apart from the general gist, I have really no idea about the technical differences between a replay and a restart. Except maybe that replay lasts for hours while a restart can be a matter of minutes. I have heard that the unlucky ones had to do a replay 😊. I never knew that missing the blocks maybe out of your hands then (I actually thought that it had a lot to with guys being lazy)

Thanks for sharing all this man. I spend quite some time and energy on Steemit so had a bit of scare, not much but it was compounded by the events of my personal life. I hope you drop by my latest post about my experience of the scare.

PS: Nice green hair 😊. Just a few days I ago I gave my first witness vote to you. Second was for @dragosroua. I’ll take a little more time with rest of the twenty-eight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90