An interview with @sircork via meet a whale episode17

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians, it's another episode of my interview in which I get to ask some technical Steem questions and also bring you closer to your witnesses. For this episode's interview, I have the pleasure of bringing to you @sircork, A steemian who has a great passion for the Steem blockchain, a steemian who works tirelessly at the witness level, creator of steem.agency user tools, founder of the YouAreHOPE Foundation, founder of steemstar network, as well as a reputable witness. This episode promises to be educating, and interesting . Be sure to sit tight and grab a cup of coffee while reading through this great interview



Meet @sircork

corkyatwork.jpg

Let's get started



@Jamesmovic - Who introduced you to steemit and what was your motive for joining?

@sircork - I honestly don't remember. I mostly looked at coinmarketcap.com for utility based coins I could afford, and I probably found it there and came direct, without any other people referring me involved.

@jamesmovic - How many times do you think its appropriate for a newbie to post per day?

@sircork - nobody really needs to think in terms of how often its appropriate, they need to think in terms of competing with 50,000 other bloggers for people's attention. If you wouldn't read that crap, why would you post that crap. Make your thing, blog, music, video, meme, fiction, how-to, vlog, whatever, better. Get good. And get a following, get in the communities, build your crowd, your gang, your buddies. Work together. Make something greater. Don't be mediocre. If you can do that more than once a day, more power to you. If not, well, don't do it. It won't work anyway.

@jamesnovic - What communities are you supporting and how?

@sircork - Some days, as a witness, it feels like most of them. I get approached by hundreds of people a week. I am in about 65 discord communities, mod in half a dozen, own a couple, and I know people who have "cut back" to just oh, 95 discords or so. Get in your communities. Grow your crowd. Enjoy the ride.

@jamesmovic - Can you tell us why you decided to become a witness?

@sircork - Yeah, I was asked to when I was a mod in a major platform community to lend technical credibility to their team last summer. I took them up on the idea, and ran with it. I've long since departed that team and that community, to forge better ones of my own, but kept up the witness and have made it to #63, recently partnering with @RhondaK, who is a big community builder and well known platform contributor in her own right.

@jamesmovic - Can you tell us how your feel about it (witnessing) now?

@sircork - It's a good way to lose your soul, suck the fun out of being here and stay busy all the time. Is it worth it? Debatable. Will I quit? Not a friggin' chance.

@jamesmovic - What exactly does "voting for a witness" means to you,and do you think it is necessary for all steemians to vote?

@sircork - Second question first. Yes, all steemians should vote. Only about 30% have ever voted for a witness, but if you want us to keep witnessing and by extension, making steem even POSSIBLE to exist, then get out the votes and do your research on who best represents the future you want to see in the steem blockchain.

What does a vote mean to me? It means someone hopefully investigated the many contributions and efforts and hours that my witness team partner @rhondak and I, put into the platform and provide to, with, and for the people who "reside" here on steem with us. It means they then in turn chose to put their trust in us, not to let them down on the visions we foresee and foretell as our team's position and intentions with regards to various platform forking decision points. And a lot more, a whole lot more. And we are grateful to every voter who places that faith in us.

@jamesmovic - What are your thoughts on the possibility of there being a new "Steem 2"?

@sircork - You mean what Dan Larimer is making over at EOS? Or like any other front end builder might be making here, such as the worthy and sturdy Busy.org, or dlive, dtube, dmania, zappl, etc?

I don't quite understand the intent of the question, but in general, there are lot's of "Steem 2's" on our own chain and others like it.

@jamesmovic - Is there anything you would like to say on your own, without me asking the question?

@sircork - Vote for witnesses. It's important. Learn who they are. Attend the forums on SteemStar Network every month and hear the witnesses who attend, speaking on major issues on the platform.

Visit http://steemstar.net for viewing information and to learn more, visit the discord linked from that site.

Also please consider supporting our steem exclusive, blockchain transparent, community fueled @YouAreHOPE Foundation - worldwide humanitarian aid funded and delivered directly by steemitizens all over the world, working together, as Agents of HOPE. YouAreHOPE: Help, Opportunity, Purpose, & Empowerment!

@jamesmovic - Any advice you would wish to give to my fellow steemians[ newbies] who are feeling dejected one way or the other due to low upvotes?

@sircork - Work harder. It's not a gift. It's like this. You just opened a tiny, underfunded restaurant in a major city. There are 50,000 other places to eat already. Are you offering something people want to consume? Okay, that's only step one. Now you gotta market yourself, and get known. Dive into the city, meet people, improve your recipe for your blog till people comment better and longer and nicer, that's how you know they liked their "meal" with you, keep working.

It's not a magic free money machine. It's a very serious business marketplace. Make your mark in it, but if you aren't writing world class level blogs, or creating world class level music, art, photography, or whatever, then consider that any reward at all is probably more than you'd get on the street in a competitive world. Keep that in mind. Don't be discouraged, be glad there is such an accessible place to keep getting better with nearly instant feedback and rewards for improvement. Now get busy, cause it ain't gonna make itself, market itself, improve itself, and consistently continue to do so, ... itself. ;)

@jamesmovic - What impression do you have about this interview and what do you feel about it?

@sircork - I feel like it's good for witnesses to talk to the community. In my case, I work a LOT, averaging around 20-22 hours a day involved in my business or steem activities, and it's hard to fit this sort of thing in to my schedule, in terms of unplanned additional to-dos. But it's worth doing, so I gave it a shot. I hope my quick, brief responses will suffice. Thanks for asking me to do it.

@thanks for honoring my invitation

DQmW9w6bmPabPas4ZA59fGKVyf9E5noqkVTFbxUBhRmTsM3_1680x8400.png

@sircork has spoken on the need for all steemians to cast their votes for witnesses, if you want the community to keep on flourishing . If you truly believe in @sircork, and @rhondak dream, in making the community a better place, if you value and appreciate what he does as a witness, you can support him, and make his efforts count, by casting your vote for @sircork. If you are doing this for the first time, all you need to do is head to the witness page and follow the instructions written on the image below

IMG_20180602_212023_532.JPG

DQmW9w6bmPabPas4ZA59fGKVyf9E5noqkVTFbxUBhRmTsM3_1680x8400.png

You can check out my previous interviews with @roelandp @themarkymark @krnel @someguy123 @felixxx @neoxian @adsactly @noisy @D-pend @pharesim @ehiboss @ogoowinner @nnnarvaez @surfyogi @timcliff @papa-pepper, by clicking on the overview of all my interviews so far

DQmW9w6bmPabPas4ZA59fGKVyf9E5noqkVTFbxUBhRmTsM3_1680x8400.png

Below are the names of witnesses I'm currently voting for, and I strongly recommend you to vote :

@sircork @roelandp @themarkymark @krnel @ausbitbank @pharesim @felixxx @noisy.witness @drakos @someguy123 @castellano @neoxian @steemgigs @timcliff @lukestokes.mhth and @adsactly.witness . you can also give your support by casting your vote for those names.

DQmW9w6bmPabPas4ZA59fGKVyf9E5noqkVTFbxUBhRmTsM3_1680x8400.png

2 SBD FOR GIVEAWAY...any steemian with the most relevant and contructive comment wins

RULES
  • Resteem this post
  • Only steemians with reputation of 57 and below can participate


@jamesmovic is just a young guy trying as much as possible to do things the right way If you like what I'm doing as a steemian, you can support me in any way you can.

DQmW9w6bmPabPas4ZA59fGKVyf9E5noqkVTFbxUBhRmTsM3_1680x8400.png

Thank you all for taking your time to read through this interview, and also for voting for these witnesses. Till next time

Sort:  

@sircork this is actually true its not really about the number of post a person makes per day its the extraordinary post that catches the attention of people @jamesmovic you really deserve some accolades because you are doing a good job

Please correct the spelling of my name.

Am sorry it was a mistake

Nice interview, thank you @jamesmovic first of all, I think you asked the right questions.
I already know some people don't actually sleep, lol, but working 20-22 hours a day Is just on a whole new level, and @sircork's statement about Making your mark, there's about 50,000 other places to eat, but you have to stand out and give out content on a world class level, it makes so much sense to me, it's a lot of word shortened into a single sentence. A lot of people say put in the work, but the way he just put it got me on another level.
Now I guess i understand more the importance of witness voting too, thanks.

you're doing a good work bro. @jamesmovic

One tip is proofreading. Please correct the spelling of my name. Ty.

LOL wrong spelling! Wrong! Hahaha... (^_+)

Oh my bad, thank you for pointing it out, and adding that point too.

oh, this is awesome, it's good having @sircork in today's interview by @jamesmovic ...Nice write dude 👍👍

Please correct the spelling of my name. Thank you.

I'm sorry mahn, it's quite a mistake...

It's really nice of you to bring whales to share their experiences with us. I must confess, most days, I lose hope but reading that the whales too had their days encourage me to keep pushing. Hopefully, someday soon, my time will come.

You guys know im a minnow and not a whale right?

Hey! Mr. Minnow! Hehehe...
We are all whales! They are nothing without us... (^_^)

I didn't know that.

This episode is indeed educating and inspiring, just as you promised it would be at the beginning.

I totally agree with @sircork on the fact that posting articles regularly should not be the main focus of newbies. Rather, they should try to create unique contents, be active in various communities that can help them, and then make friends.

I must confess that I am among the 70% steemians who have never voted for a witness. I would make up my mind to do so, but then, it would slip pass my mind a few minutes after.

I believe @sircork is a great steemian and I also believe his dedication to helping out other steemians and the needy is worthy of emulation.

I don't know how the network would be tonight, but no matter what, I would make sure I head to the witness page and try to vote for @sircork.

As usual, @jamesmovic, good job!!!

Wow, this is superb interview, thanks for bringing sircork closer to us...i would definitely approve him as my witness

Besides resteeming this post, I am also sharing it on the indiaunited discord channel. A lot of people keep asking questions on why about witness votes and this is the best and comprehensive answer to it. @sircork is a great person. I wonder if he really gets time to attend to his personal needs as well. I also appreciate the way you interviewed him, @jamesmovic

very interesting and educational interview. Thank you for posting it

Congratulations @jamesmovic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Lovely interview James. It's really a great privilege to get to know about steemit witnesses. Thanks for this great opportunity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69473.97
ETH 3761.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75