You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Witness Voting Oversimplified

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

There is a point where I admit my lack of knowledge, and when I first joined steemit that lack of knowledge was greatest when it came to thinking of witnesses. Within a few weeks I'd realized my lack of understanding would take a long time to correct.

I was lucky to meet @sircork early on in my steemit career. It's hard to find a more dedicated and honest steemian on the platform. When I learned he was a witness, I delegated all my thirty votes to him.

At first it might have been a cop-out--a way for me to not have to learn or worry about it. But over time I have learned a bit (certainly not everything) about how the blockchain works as well as how it doesn't.

I still think that proxying my votes are the best way to go, for me. I follow what sircork does, watch who he votes. I have not been dissatisfied with my (his) choices.

Great article @RhondaK. Great witnesses are the hope of the chain.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for placing your trust in me. It's been a pleasure to know you.

One thing you can count on with me, as your proxy is that I can clearly and plainly explain and justify why I vote for each witness I choose, and as a hint to my technique, I tend to pick the people who have a combination of contributions I personally use, a constant and vigilant presence on the platform as daily users and who have a passion for the success of this place and all of us. Feel free to question any of my choices or changes as we go along, and I will happily engage in a chat about the whos and whys of it all.

You will see that there are many prominent names I do NOT vote for, and some people may raise an eyebrow at that, but suffice it to say I have been doing this a while now, been here more than a minute or two, and I have gotten to know who some of the figureheads really are.

Your point about being dedicated and honest is not lost, and I'm flattered and honored to have you say so, It's the very basis from which I make my own choices and will defend them all with the same dedication and honesty.

Do your own research and do not just blindly choose witnesses. Not all of them are who they represent themselves to be. And not all of them (like me) represent themselves well enough always to give you a sense of who we really are. Take some time with these decisions, but take the time for these decisions.

It's critical to the platform's future to choose wisely and also by extension to our own futures here as individual users on a daily basis.

I remain ever in your service,
@SirCork

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86