Witness Update ~ April 30th, 2018

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

j-r-swab-witness-update-april-30-2018

Current Server Setup:

  • Intel Xenon E3 (4 Core/8 Threads)
  • 64GB DDR3 ECC RAM
  • 20TB Bandwidth

Witness Parameters:

  • SBD Interest Rate: 0
  • Price Feed Bias: 0
  • Registration Fee: 0.2 STEEM
  • Maximum Block Size: 131,072

Witness Ranking:

Full Rank: 112 / Active Rank: 93 (at the time of writing)

General Update Information

During the spam 'attack' we had last week my server lost it's prefect score and missed two blocks at no fault of mine or the server. Very unfortunate but keeping a perfect zero missed block will only get harder as the level increases. I am lucky that I was not higher on the list or else I would have missed more.

The server is now running 0.19.3 via the docker package by @someguy123. This minor update fixes the issue that caused the spamming to bog down the network and forced many witnesses to miss blocks. Other than that, everything is the same as you can see from the posted specification above.

The last update I said the following:

I am confident that the price of STEEM will rise again by the end of 2018. If I am not able to cover the cost of the server with the STEEM earned from blogging, however, I will have to make the hard choice whether to continue witnessing or not.

At the current price of STEEM I am able to support my server based in it's earnings if I choose to power down the earned STEEM to pay for the hosting. However, I am in talks with a few others that are looking to team up in order to keep witnessing as the server costs increase.

If you want to support the serving by helping to cover the cost of operation I will be more than happy to send you a percentage of the earnings based off of the percentage you put in. I will be the one to maintain the sever so there is no need to have a background in Linux or running a headless server.

Price Feed

I am still using @yabapmatt's price feed, and since my last update, the feed was late only once due to some node latency and not the price feed itself. Again, a big thanks to my fellow Pennsylvanian, @yabapmatt for taking the time to create another price-feed option.

the-creators-guild

The Creators' Guild Update

On top of me upvoting each post that goes through the proofreading stage in our group between 50 and 75% voting power I am now also sending about 5 STEEM to @smartsteem for those posts as well as further incentive to use the proofreading services.

We Need Help At The Guild!

If you have any experience with reading, writing, proofreading, or anything that will help others create better content we need your help. With proofreading being at the top of the list due to timezones and people being busy.

You do not have to be a professional proofreader to help out just the desire to help others. A fresh set of eyes on a draft is a big help in catching weird sentences that the writer may not see. If you want to help and do not have a ton of confidence in proofreading, we can always work together while you get your feet wet.

What Is A Witness (a very brief explanation)

In case you do not know what we do, we are the ones that add ever upvote, post, and comment into the blockchain. Without witnesses no post would ever go through and ever action on the blockchain would come to a screeching halt.

Do Your Part

You may think that you vote does not matter because you are a plankton or a minnow, but I want to tell you that it does matter! Especially witness like myself who are not supported by the most prominent whales on the platform. I do have a vote from @jerrybanfield, and I am very thankful for that as it allows my server to produce about a block per day.

But that does not mean that I only want votes from whales and orcas. I believe any well-meaning witness should aim to earn 1000 votes from plankton and minnows than pander to a someone with a ton of Steem Power. The support Jerry made for me is his own choice, and I did no pandering. After I signed up to be a partner with him to see what it was all about, we got to chat, and he chose to cast a vote for me and for that I am grateful.

Your vote matters!

The more of us smaller fish who vote for a witness, the more stable that witness becomes. There is no need for them to worry about dropping far out of rank just because a whale vote left. If you are following a witness, know they are a good human, and love what they do for the Steem platform than you should vote for them.

Thanks For Reading!

All images came from royalty and attribution free sources unless specified.

Looking to take your Steem based creations to the next level?
Join us over at the Creators' Guild Discord group! We are here to encourage, support and increase the creation of quality content.

If you have any questions about the future of Steem
or my witness please feel free to message jrswab#3134 on Discord.

vote-jrswab-for-steem-Witnesses—Steemit.gif

Click here to vote with SteemConnect!
Or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
You can see all active witnesses on @drakos' steemian.info


Click here to join the mailing list and never miss a blog update!
Subscribers get emails about new blog post and exclusive SDB/STEEM giveaways!

Looking to support my content creation efforts outside of the Steem Blockchain?
Check out jrswab.com/support


Keybase | Twitter | Instagram | Gab | Minds | Anchor | Technology Podcast

Sort:  

This is great progress keep up

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93