Witness Back and Upgraded to 20.6 - after 35 hrs offline and Backup Server Enabled! Lessons Learned

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

Witness Back and Upgraded to 20.6 - after 35 hrs offline and Backup Server Enabled!

image.png

I started upgrading to 20.6 at Saturday night without a backup server. It took longer than I expected because:

  1. witness server is only 50GB RAM.
  2. ZRAM enabled (compressed)
  3. Main CPU Frequency is only 2100 MHz

I thought witness plugin is the same thing as witness_api thus I removed it and when replay was around 90% - I made another mistake by ./run.sh restart - because I thought it will reload the configuration. Lessons Learned!

It took another 10+ hours because the reindexing had to re-start from beginning.

I thought it would be great to have a backup server in the future because during the offline, I lost three votes.. And most importantly, being a witness means responsibility to produce blocks when needed. We all need to minimize the downtime.

I spent another fortune to rent another VPS - as a backup. Both are now fully synchronized to 20.6 blockchain.


Left: Main Server, Right: Backup Server

Witness Status

My Witness Page

Main Witness Server

  • Running 20.6 now (Docker)
  • Location: Germany
  • 10 cores of Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2630 v4 @ 2.20GHz
  • 50 GB RAM
  • 1200 GB SSD
  • 1000 Mbit/s port, Upstream 130 Gbits
  • Ubuntu 16.04 xenial

Backup Witness Server

  • Running 20.6 now (Docker)
  • Location: Germany
  • 10 cores of Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2630 v4 @ 2.20GHz
  • 60 GB RAM
  • 1600 GB SSD
  • 1300 Mbit/s port, Upstream 130 Gbits
  • Ubuntu 18.04 bionic

image.png


Enjoy and Steem On!

Delegate to @justyy

@justyy runs a automatic delegation service for nearly a year now. Delegate to @justyy for at least 5 SP and start receiving daily payout as interests (from 8% to 10% APR). Also, as a supporter, the delegators will start to receive complimentary/curation upvotes (as a thank you) per day from e.g @justyy and a few other curation trails. For more information, read this. The voting weight algorithm is open source.

Please note that the SP you enter is the final amount to delegate. For example, if you already delegate 10 SP and you want to delegate another 5 SP, you will need to enter 15 SP (instead of 5 SP) in the delegation form.

Vote for me or Set me as a witness Proxy - Every vote counts! - Thank you!

Your Vote is much appreciated, and every vote counts.

Check out My Witness Page

Support me and my work as a witness - witness thread by

  1. voting me here, or
  2. voting me as a witness proxy - let @justyy represent you.

Thank you! Some of My Contributions: SteemYY.com - SteemIt Tutorials, Robots, Tools and APIs and VPS Search Tool

Sort:  

I think your secondary server is better than the main server ^^55

Hi @justyy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.878 which ranks you at #96 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 97).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 438 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Lessons maketh man better ;-)

10 cores of Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2630 v4 @ 2.20GHz

I got a new server with similar config too .

Out of curious, which VPS provider?

Hostdime - its a physical server

Out of curiosity: why do you have zram enabled ? you seem to have enough RAM on both servers for the blockchain.

thanks. yes you are right. I was just playing around zram to see how it performed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72