The Witness Voting Engagement Report - 2017-08-16steemCreated with Sketch.

How Engaged Are Steemit Users in Voting for Witnesses?

That's what this weekly report is all about.

This week's engagement rate for accounts with 100,000 VESTS or more is:

20.52%

That's up 3.1% from last week, even with a 4% increase in new users!


If you're not sure what a witness vote is, or why it's important, please see my older post Steemit is Free, But Your Witness Vote Determines its Future.

This report uses @arcange's STEEMSQL.

MV stands for Million VESTS.

VESTS are like vested shares in Steemit and relate to Steem by a ratio (484.575 Steem per MV as of this report).

VESTS impact the weight of your vote on posts and the influence of your vote for Steemit Witnesses.

Here's how I'm filtering the data:

  1. All Accounts: No filter applied, includes all accounts.
  2. > 100,000: Accounts with 100,000 or more VESTS.
  3. > 0 Posts: Accounts which have posted at least once.
  4. > 100k & > 0 Posts: Accounts with 100,000 or more VESTS who have also posted at least once.

The percentage values in parentheses show the change since last week's report.

Overview


This shows the total number of accounts and VESTS (excluding steemit related accounts).

FilterAccounts% AccountsVESTS% VESTS
All Accounts310,665 (+4%)100%185,959 (0.4%)100%
> 100,000 VESTS24,845 (+1.4%)8% (2.4%)181,531 (+0.4%)97.62% (1.2%)
> 0 Posts126,652 (+4.9%)40.77% (-0.9%)107,048 (+0.5%)57.57% (27.5%)
> 100k & > 0 Posts16,358 (+-86.5%)5.27% (87%)105,441 (+-1%)56.7% (28.6%)

Voters


This shows the total number of accounts and VESTS which have voted for a witness or set a proxy.

FilterAccounts% AccountsVESTS% VESTS
All Accounts12,421 (+4.2%)4% (0%)136,086 (+1.3%)35.44% (+1.3%)
> 100,000 VESTS5,097 (+4.6%)20.52% (+3.1%)135,910 (+1.3%)35.8% (+1.1%)
> 0 Posts8,876 (+5.6%)7.01% (+0.1%)101,800 (+1.4%)33.36% (+1.1%)
> 100k & > 0 Posts4,38426.8%101,69333.51%

Voting For Inactive Witnesses


This shows the number of accounts which are currently voting for witness accounts in the top 100 there not currently active witnesses. This number should be 0.

FilterAccounts% AccountsVESTS% VESTS
All Accounts1,513 (-24.1%)12.18%28,036 (-21.1%)20.6%
> 100,000 VESTS848 (-19.4%)16.64%28,019 (-21.1%)20.62%
> 0 Posts1,419 (-24.6%)15.99%27,309 (-21.5%)26.83%
> 100k & > 0 Posts81218.52%27,29326.84%

If you're voting for any of these inactive witness accounts, you should remove your vote unless you know they are only temporarily inactive:


viva.witness
kushed
cyrano.witness
bue
nextgencrypto
tdv.witness
dantheman
picokernel
bitcube
hagie
silversteem
blackwidow
steve-walschot
jabbasteem
enki
nexus-dev
mckenziegary
nonlinearone
linouxis9
royaltiffany
dele-puppy

Here are the top 50 accounts by VESTS (excluding 24 accounts which I've been told are Steemit employee or contractor accounts) which are not currently voting for a Steemit Witness:

AccountVESTS
ranchorelaxo2,674 MV
recursive830 MV
alvaro696 MV
azeroth560 MV
livingfree510 MV
creator477 MV
another414 MV
systema412 MV
eeqj393 MV
kidrock354 MV
done351 MV
tyler333 MV
skan328 MV
hiva309 MV
node1278 MV
virus707276 MV
figaro260 MV
sigizzang258 MV
extrospect250 MV
damarth237 MV
bitcointalker234 MV
moderator233 MV
moses153229 MV
otisbrown225 MV
temet-nosce222 MV
natsu220 MV
ctrl-alt-nwo218 MV
modprobe217 MV
famunger210 MV
bramd206 MV
node2202 MV
cornucopia199 MV
tim196 MV
biggest189 MV
bayrene188 MV
eclipse184 MV
layz3r182 MV
faddy181 MV
ryanwdaviessteem179 MV
cylonmaker2053178 MV
trevonjb173 MV
wans172 MV
czechglobalhosts161 MV
ramires158 MV
star153 MV
urbanoid146 MV
solaris144 MV
starky132 MV
dimimp131 MV
luigi129 MV

These top 50 have 15,791 MV which could be applied to witness votes.

If you know people on this list, maybe encourage them to set a proxy voter or ask them why they aren't voting right now. Those like myself who are working to move up the witness ranks would sure appreciate their support.

Have You Voted for a Witness?

If you haven't voted yet, please consider setting @lukestokes as your proxy voter. Otherwise, go vote for some Steemit Witnesses you've interacted with and respect to do what's in the best interest of the network. I hope that includes my witness, @lukestokes.mhth.


Again, if you're not sure what a witness vote is, or why it's important, please see my older post Steemit is Free, But Your Witness Vote Determines its Future.

Thank you! I hope you found this useful.


Previous Reports:


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Nice stats 👍😊

As a stats nerd I dig the tables

I did my own analyze yesterday on the topic in https://steemit.com/steem/@sc-steemit/witness-stats-how-many-users-are-actually-voting-for-a-witness

Something i would like to see is users that has posted/commented/voted at least once in the last month. This way we could see how many are actually still active as well.

The trend looks good though. But we need to raise the knowledge bar.

Yeah, I've been thinking about the witness engagement side of things. Some witnesses are highly technical doing very important code validation work directly with Steemit, inc. If we over-emphasis their social engagement, we might not fully appreciate that side of things. That said, even the most anti-social of us should hopefully be able to put together a monthly "Hey, here's why you vote for me" post, I think. I hope, anyway.

I assume you're referring to my

The trend looks good though. But we need to raise the knowledge bar.

This was more meant for us raising the knowledge bar of the users, like you are doing with these posts. Not every witness need to be a coder and know everything.

Ah, I got "users" here confused with "witnesses"

Something i would like to see is users that has posted/commented/voted at least once in the last month.

But yeah, that's a good filter. Might be more difficult to do though, but I could look into it.

Wow! Again, Thank goodness we have you and people like you running this thing. Another highly insightful post of the under workings of steemit for this tech illiterate newbie. So correct me if I'm wrong but what you described in the post is.......good news? lol I still can't explain to my parents where the value of steem comes from, but that's all good. I decided to stay with steemit and I'm happy to be here. Thanks for helping maintain a platform where I can share my travel info, network with others from around the world, and earn money from it too.

Next time you find yourself in Siahnookville Cambodia I'll give you the low down on where to sleep, eat, and get 25 cent beers on the beach. Until then I don't have all that much to offer, other than a thank you for the education. Luke, you rock! and are appreciated! keep on keep'n on and so will I :) Having a plate of Pat Si-iew for you tonight from Koh Pha Ngan Thailand.

-Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Thanks Dan. :)

I still can't explain to my parents where the value of steem comes from

This is the key question! Where does any value come from? How does a pizza in May of 2010 sell for 10,000 bitcoins which today would be worth around $40M? Answer this question and you can start to realize the amazing emergent properties of the human species and how value is only determined in the moment of transaction. We could be experiencing massive deflation, but instead the FED keeps creating money out of nothing. Blockchain cryptocurrencies are just starting to recapture some of that value and put it back into the hands of ordinary people. It's an exciting time to be alive!

Yes it is an amazing time, and what a trip; "pizza in May of 2010 sell for 10,000 bitcoins which today would be worth around $40M" Incredible!

The way I've been explaining the value of steem and where it comes from, is similar to what you write. I've been saying that the value comes in people accepting that it has value. People using it, and transacting with it. Similar to how you say "value is determined in the moment in transaction"

Then I go on to explain the trading platforms Polynex and bittrex recognize it as having value and that's a big deal.

If they still don't get it I try to explain that it's like wompom and sea shells with the native Americans way back when. They accepted sea shells as a kind of currency, in this acceptance by the population, value is created.

So I guess I've been explaining it somewhat well. But still the confusion for many people I've spoken with is that they can't comprehend a financial instrument not in paper or coin and issued by a government. "Well I can't buy milk a the grocery with it...."

It's revolutionary! It's a trip. I basically understand it the way you explained it how I explain it. But it's still hard for me to even wrap my head around sometimes. Especially the blockchain side, and like the creation of a unit of steem. But thank goodness we are moving in a direction away from centralized, minupalated, corrupt, federal reserve and putting the value and power back into the people's hands.

I don't recall getting bailed out when I watched my Florida home lose 70% of it's value in 6 months, in 2008. I was stuck underwater for years. Meanwhile their handing out trillions to their banker buddies like it's candy.

It's a real trip for me to be apart of this cryptocurrency thing. I'm young, but old school. Ties into my semi-computer illiteracy and so on. But I'm learning fast thanks to you and others.

On a further note, I just published another World Travel Report: Aruba. My travel reports have done well. Hope this one takes off too. Great place to spend a week with the family, but it's not cheap :) Good touching base with you again Luke, you've been a real inspiration for me on here.

-Dan "World Travel Pro"

@lukestokes - Heartening to see the witness votes engagement going up. Still low at around 20% but creeping up. I think your articles are helping to increase awareness.
I see that, with every report, the analysis you present is also evolving. After I dabbled in SQL analysis with one of my posts last week, I realize how much work you are putting in for this. Kudos.

Regards,
vm2904

Thanks! I love playing with this stuff and was up until around 2am last night putting together some night queries joined together to get me the output I want along with a spreadsheet to calculate percentages and such. I hope to keep improving things over time.

Good to know that @arcange's STEEMSQL is still up and running. I need to get back on there and run some numbers for fun. Great report and great news. Thank you @lukestokes!

There's a lot of fun data in there to play with. :)

A good post about witness which is vital for the well being of all here. Thanks for sharing.

You're welcome, Charles!

Thanks

i got to get a vest! voted for you and am following

Thanks so much, I really do appreciate it.

I chose you a long time and gave my vote for you! Excellent work and a wonderful report! Good luck)

Definitely worth an upvote and a resteem :]

Thanks for spreading the love!

Good work, Luke. Much respect!

Despite the fact that only 20% of users are engaging it is still a significant amount of active users and that number will only keep increasing as time goes on and people are hooked to steemit.

Great to see it is already able to increase by 4%. I wonder what the number of active users will be like when HF 20 releases. Will there be a boom of engagements or will the number get diluted and decreased?

Thank you for your great analysis @lukestokes as well as your work as witness! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67621.06
ETH 3787.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50