Well, Finally!

I am up and running.

promisewitness.png

For some reason I had a lot of issues with every docker build and tutorial I found. I just went to GitHub and built the newest version and I am almost done syncing the blockchain.

Screen Shot 2018-07-01 at 12.28.25 AM.png

I also had issues with the various methods of downloading the block log and "saving time". I am sure I did something incorrect, but nonetheless it didn't work out.

I would think about writing a tutorial explaining how I succeeded in getting everything setup correctly, but honestly just go to the Steem Github and read the documentation. If you are remotely familiar with linux, this is all you need. If anyone one needs help, please don't hesitate to contact me.

The bottom line... My witness server is running and will be ready to product blocks in a couple hours when syncing finishes. I am extremely happy with the way it is running currently and with the memory and CPU usage. I should be good without an upgrade to my equipment for a long time.

I will update again when I produce my first block. I have to say I am excited to be able to actually be a part of the construction of the blockchain that STEEM is based on. I have very high hopes for the history of STEEM.

I have no dreams of becoming a top 20 witness, I only hope that I can be a benefit to the backbone of the blockchain, as we all watch STEEM grow.

Thank you all for your help.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mrunderstood from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75