You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NOBLEWITNESS UPDATE - On Promises, Contracts, and Integrity

in #witness-category6 years ago

slan - der
noun
the action or crime of making a false spoken statement damaging to a person's reputation.

li-bel
noun
a published false statement that is damaging to a person's reputation; a written defamation

So first of all, figure out the difference between slander and libel. That would serve you well. Words matter.

Secondly, the key phrase here is "false statement." That has to be established conclusively to claim either libel or slander. If a statement is true, crying about slander just makes you look like a whiny little douche who slept through his vocabulary lessons in grade school.

Sort:  

I laugh at people trying to act intelligent lol

So I'm assuming you were laughing at yourself, seeing as you don't understand what civil wrongs you could level against someone for false statements, nor do you understand the defense to them.

Andrei, I’m starting to wonder if this guy really is short bus, legit. I mean, I don’t mind teasing the willfully ignorant, but I’d rather not be accused of pulling Forrest Gump’s pigtails, if you know what I mean. 😳 I will try to disengage. “Try” being the operative word.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72