@rival witness update April 2018 - Holiday missed blocks - update to 0.19.3 - and thank you fellow witnesses

in #witness-category6 years ago

Hi All, After months of stability I missed last weeks some blocks.

And guess what.

It happened during my first holiday since I started as a witness. Like every day I checked my server and during my fantastic holiday I went to bed after a day at the beach, sun and swimming pool.

I woke up in the morning and checked my blocks and then I realized something happened. It was a strange feeling and asked myself:

WHY NOW??

After 3 minutes I realized this had to be fixed. I took my laptop which I brought only for my witness duty. I said to my GF and kids to go for breakfast and that I would join them later. At that point I didn't know anything yet. I was awake for 10 minutes.

I started to put my witness in maintenance mode

This to avoid missing more blocks. This is what everyone should do.
Then my first resource for information was steem.chat . I figured out quickly that I was not the only one and that there was some attack to disrupt the steem blockchain. The logs showed the same issue and a stop and start would solve the issue.

I was happy that all witnesses share this information and that we help each other. THANK YOU.

I fixed the issue and put my server into producing mode again.

10 minutes later I could join my family for breakfast on my holiday.

Yesterday evening I returned back from my holiday, and today I upgraded my server to V0.19.3

A very special thank you to @someguy123 for creating these amazing updates each time.

Thank you for reading. And thank you for all the support you give me.

Kind regards,

Ron

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48