[Security Update!] - All witnesses please update ASAP (Steem-in-a-box is ready to go)steemCreated with Sketch.

As per the recent security announcement from Steemit, Steem-in-a-box is now updated.

The vulnerability DOES NOT allow for funds to be stolen, remote code execution, or anything else extremely serious. Please do not spread FUD.

To update your witness node with Steem-in-a-box:

cd ~/steem-docker
./run.sh install
./run.sh restart

To update your full node (RPC Node):

cd ~/your-rpc
./run.sh install_full
./run.sh restart

No replay is required for this update. It is advised to install this update ASAP to protect your server from going offline.

Verify you've updated:

./run.sh wallet
>>> about
"server_steem_revision": "2ee5160c9522f92a38d22dbef0062db766751fa4",
"server_fc_revision": "8dd1fd1ec0906509eb722fa7c8d280d59bcca23d"

GIF Avatar by @stellabelle


Do you like what I'm doing for STEEM/Steemit?

Vote for me to be a witness - every vote counts.

Don't forget to follow me for more like this.


Have you ever thought about being a witness yourself? Join the witness channel. We're happy to guide you! Join in shaping the STEEM economy.

Are you looking for a new server provider? My company @privex offers highly-reliable and affordable dedicated and virtual servers for STEEM, LTC, and BTC! Check out our website at https://www.privex.io


Sort:  

hey mate,

pardon if this is a bit off topic, though someone recommended I contact the witnesses to share a large-scale idea I posted about today to advance Steem’s development, and aiming to get the idea out in front of some power-players who might be able to run with it:


The $1 Billion Steem Development Fund: How Steemit Inc.'s Stake Could Be Best Allocated To Grow A Thriving Network Of Applications And Users...

would be great if you could have a read, and IF you feel it’d be a great idea that’d serve the community, forward to anyone in particular you know who might be in a position of influence to advance the discussion.

not sure who exactly would be in charge of exploring such possibilities and making decisions to implement initiatives like this, though as you’re one of the top witnesses, might be reasonable to expect you’d know - and would be awesome if you could help to pass this along, should you feel inclined.

cheers,

Rok

So witnesses actually code and update Steemit??

Some people do, most don't.

A large amount of the steemit.com code is done by Steemit Inc. staff.

Most witnesses work on their own individual projects, for example I built AnonSteem, Steem-in-a-box, and steemfeed-js.

If you need help with developing sth, maybe i can be of help ;) Thanks for the post, will vote you for witness

I think I have a nwe understanding

I think you have a newt understanding.


favorite stupidcomments

Good stuff to get it fixed and keep steem strong.

very good support and help

I have set myself the target to become a witness in the next weeks - I have not fully checked what I have to do but I just want to experiment and give it a try.

I actually didn't know about this, so now you have me interested!

Thank you for the post.. updated 3 hours ago.. all servers up and running without a problem.. the docker option is great!!

Great post and I voted

@someguy123, good information, i didnt know about this before. i found it to be useful, thanks again

@someguy123 , Thanks Buddy . Thanks a lot .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94