Sort:  

I use a number of tools to get all my information.

I peruse their blog, from the beginning, via ChainBB to avoid resteems. I search for discussion about them, or mentions in the comments. I try to read their opinion pieces and highlight a topic they have a strong opinion on, or that they may find interesting. (In Joseph's case, it was his post on Jerry.)

I also use @Drakos' tool to check the health, version, and stats of their witness:

https://steemian.info/witnesses

I ask other Steemians if they have any knowledge. If the witness belongs to one of my communities (or chooses to contact me), I'll include any information they provide. If they have edits or changes after I post, I will fairly consider them and add or retract as necessary, up to the 7-day edit restriction. Indeed, it wouldn't surprise me if Joseph chose to comment here and respond to my snark.

Thanks for a relevant question.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59740.56
ETH 3011.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79