You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Witness Server Upgraded to New Hardware

Hey, @krnel.

I appreciate the update. Sounds like you're good to go for a while. I thought I read months ago that either they were working on or had just released something that would compress the blockchain so that the hardware specs could decrease. Am I making that up? Otherwise, this is worrisome. I'm wondering if there couldn't be a solution where different machines end up daisy chaining the blockchain—running parts of it and spreading it out even further.

I have no idea if that would work, but eventually, we'll be talking terabytes and beyond of data. Hopefully, that's still a ways off, but Velocity is supposed to bring the hordes (if account claiming doesn't take all the RCs :).

Hopefully thejohalfiles will reconsider, or someone else with high SP will come along. I for one prefer witnesses who are regularly participating on the social/blogging side of the blockchain, so I hope things trend upward for you soon.

Sort:  

Yeah I read that too. I think it's still in the works though... we just have to wait and see...

Yes, my vision was for that distribution of the chain into fragments/segments, I had though of choosing certain topics to host and you can support the content you want to, but that's a bit complex to implement :/

Thanks, maybe I'll get support in the future... maybe not and have to close up shop at some point soon hehe ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63332.97
ETH 3169.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89