300 Days On Steemit! @jackmiller (Witness-Update)

in #witness-update6 years ago (edited)

10/APRIL/2018 = 300 Days on Steemit!

Yes, today marks exactly 300 days since I registered my account on Steemit. What a wonderful experience it has been.

Not only has it changed my life, it has opened up my eyes to an entire new and much brighter future that is possible for this world of ours.

A world in which the Proof of Brain concept can help fund lives and educate the youth of less fortunate nations out there, introducing new opportunities to those who to date have had to depend exclusively on the policies brought about by “politicians” of their nations.

Students can be more independent, so can tradesmen, housewives, nurses, teachers and just about anyone and everyone who wants to have more financial independence in life.

As I mentioned in my vision statement not long ago, I can already see the looks in parents eyes when they don’t have to say “No” to their children for some of the basic things in life. A look and emotion that literally has no price, as it is worth more than the entire world in that one little moment of happiness that can be seen in your childs eyes.

So with this post, I figured I shall take down a few birds with the one stone. This post is my regular witness update, my post that marks my 300 days on Steemit, a declaration that I have decided to make public and my reply to the nomination for the
Witness-Blocks Challenge
by @guiltyparties.

I was nominated by @enginewitty.

divider 123.png

My Witness Update:

My server specs are more than adequate to withstand the block production of any top 20 witness server,

64x GB RAM
Xeon E3
2x4 TB HDD
1gbit/s network
Dedicated Server

So there are no problems there, it hasn’t missed a block yet.

divider 123.png

WITNESS DECLARATION @jackmiller


I Jack Miller, username @jackmiller, declare here and now that all blocks produced by my witness server shall be used for our community and charity/goodwill donations by my family.

Why not give this money to people who need it more!

I have enough to ensure my family has a home, that we have more than enough for a content life, so why not put this money to better use.

We have successfully given donations from funds raised here on Steemit, so it is more than possible and I am sure that I can cover the money I invested into my Witness server from my posts. So I won’t be putting my family at a disadvantage.

Looking at it from a simple angle, if the TOP 20 witnesses can turn over 50,000 or more Steem in Steem Power (easily per year) it is clear that there can be a lot of good done with the amount or greenbacks (FIAT/Cash) this can produce and ensure that there is ample for everyone, everything from a full RPC node set up for the community and a nice lump sum of money on the side.

Sure, that is a fair sum of money, and no, not all of it is clear cash/profit, but the amounts accumulated at even $1 for 1 Steem are huge. So if it ever happens that I get into a situation that my witness server is producing that much turnover, my investment to date that I gave covers the production side, it shall be all used for GOOD.

I will have to ensure that there is a backup server in that case, so as to ensure I don’t miss blocks if or when “a bug” shows up!

So my investment shall be double what it is now. Something that I am well aware of.

WOW, I invest an entire lets say $5,000 per year to potentially make over $50,000 or even a $100,000 or maybe much more than that, depending on the value of Steem, in donations to charities and good will organizations out there.

Gladly, if every $5,000 could be multiplied by a minimum of 10 to help others, I would gladly invest that money for that purpose.

The only conditions that I am applying are:

  1. What the amount of FIAT is after conversions, that is the amount of the donation(s).
  2. If (or when) the production rates get to a point that a donation can be done and that a full RPC node can be funded for the needs of our blockchain here, this shall be done for the good of the Steem Community. So it shall be a WIN WIN scenario, for all Steemians and for doing “greater GOOD”.

Now, this may all sound a little too good to be true, but it’s not, it is even better.
Especially when I take into consideration that numerous TOP 20 Witnesses do not have any form of community node running. That is their choice and their right to not do so and keep all the money for themselves.

Basically when I think about it, then I see that at least my Witness server can do more good for everyone and at the same time I take all the burden off my shoulders of thinking about “the money”.

What a relief!

Makes everything oh so much clearer as far as goals and motivations go. Just get rid of the $ signs and it all becomes a matter of doing good for everyone. For the blockchain, the community and for humanity.


Remember, it is my decision as to what I do with funds raised via a server I prepaid for the next 12 months.
If I want to give it to charity, then it is my right to do so.
END OF STORY.


I can make enough as a blogger and vlogger, putting me at an equal level to all Steemians who do not own and run bid bots, Witness servers or as in many cases both bidbots and witness servers!


Nope, I like being the kid from a working class family, fully love being average and hanging out with average people and not talking down to anyone.

My Witness updates shall also be a tracking method for the funds raised, so that everything can be up to date, transparent, open and public.

If you are still not clear as to WHY I am doing this, here is a FANTASTIC message from a fellow Steemian @adventuroussoul who really says it all as far as the reality of life goes!

Just click on the image or in case something doesn't go right, here is the direct link to the video: https://d.tube/v/adventuroussoul/8p6jvasq

So there it is, my declaration as to how I am going to handle the funds raised/earned from my Witness Server.

divider 123.png

Witness-Blocks Challenge

Do something useful for others (ie. free delegation, account creation for others, etc.) with your witness blocks:

Write a post about it
Tag it with #witness-blocks
Nominate a witnesses

Guess all I have left to do here is to "Nominate a witness", so here goes:

I will nominate one of our newest Witnesses on the Block: @steemcommunity
run by: @paulag & @abh12345

divider 123.png

For all those who would like to cast a witness vote and are not sure how to, here are the two most popular ways used to vote:

Just click on the above image and it shall take you directly there.

or
Click on this link and vote via SteemConnect:
https://steemconnect.com/

Thanks for reading,

Yours sincerely,

Sort:  

Hey @jackmiller

I appreciate this update and much of what you say is in line with our thinking also, I gladly accept the challenge to write a similar post in the coming days :)

You have my vote, thanks for giving back to the community where you can.

A community strongly have capability to survive if there are some rules like you described @jackmiller and also I got motivated when I saw such a nice policies here at steemit.

Thanks for sharing such a nice views about steemit.

@imsteem

i would like to bring you witness to my w/(h) ea L/L (t/h) D https://steemit.com/g0fig/@xubrnt/ned-steemit

Nice update @jackmiller and I am impressed you paid for 12 months in advance.

Thanks for nominating @steemcommunity and as @abh12345 said we will have a post in the coming days :)

That's a huge achievement mate! 300 days is awesome and you've made such amazing progress on here during that time.

Who would have thought you'd be a witness after such a short time eh?

Here's to another 300! Can't wait to see what you achieve next. :)

If (or when) the production rates get to a point that a donation can be done and that a full RPC node can be funded for the needs of our blockchain here, this shall be done for the good of the Steem Community.

Oh yes please. We need the RPC nodes.

I Jack Miller, username @jackmiller, declare here and now that all blocks produced by my witness server shall be used for our community and charity/goodwill donations by my family.

Love this statement. You will be among the last that I unvote in case things happen. Way to go!

For those reading this, don't forget to vote for Jack miller as Witness, you can see the "how to" at this post footer above.

You and @steemcommunity will both be getting my votes today. Congrats on the milestone of 300 days! Many more fun days to come!

Congratulations!! May you have many many years than days here on Steemit!

65 Days to go to make it an year anniversary!
Whoop!WHoop!
Congratulations to you @jackmiller! Just looking at how much you have accomplished gives me motivation to keep pushing.
Xoxo

Congratulations! for that time of dedication, learning and work that he has had on this platform that has been a blessing for many. Thank you for the support and contributions you give through your publications that in some way gives all of us who are in steemit for each day to grow in this world of steemit. Greetings and Blessings @jackmiller

Congratulations!

I say "In an absence of empathy, fascism thrives." your post is declaration of empathy, it's deeply moving and important.

I am going to give you a mighty minnow vote for witness.

Good on ya, Jack. Cheers for all the guidance for me so far.

Much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66