Witness Updated to v0.20.5, and Witness Votes Changed

in #witness-update6 years ago (edited)

When I got back from vacation, I noticed there had been 3 more releases of Steem in the past 6 days I was away. I got back too late to do the update on Saturday. On Sunday, I updated my witness server to from v0.20.2 to v0.20.5. It went very well. To me, it seems things are quicker since the v0.19.10 release with RocksDB.

Pay-it-forward Delegations

To help various communities or users on the blockchain, I had delegated 33,000 SP while I went on vacation for 6 days. This is one way I help out some people on the blockchain as a witness. When I returned, I kept some delegation active at a lower SP amount, as I have had active for about 6 months now. I had increased some delegations from 500 SP, to 5000-6000 SP, and then back down to 500 SP when I returned. This seems to have messed up people's voting abilities with the newly flawed Resource Credit system though.

Lack of Top 20 Witness Testing of HF20

I noticed while I was gone that the new Resource Credit system had brought activity on the blockchain to a halt. I myself had about 500 SP left after delegation 30,000 SP to others, yet I couldn't post or even Power Up.

I find this is unfortunate and should have been avoided by the top 20 witnesses testing things better, given the resources (Steem Power) they are paid each month to have this responsibility. This is the first hardfork in over a year, and it has had many issues since it was slated for implementation. Hopefully a lesson was learned and they can do better next time.

Resource Credit and Delegations

The Resource Credit system also has issues with delegations, whereby someone who has a delegation removed will have their voting "manna"/power drop to 5% or so with their delegation gone, even if they were at 90% or so when they had the delegation.

This doesn't make sense. Someone should have the same voting power/"manna" no matter what delegation or SP they had from one day to the other, as it used to be. This is penalizing people for just no longer having a delegation, degrading their ability to interact on the blockchain. @tcpolymath has created a github issue about this crappy behavior.

Witness Vote Changes

A few months ago I decided to vote for witnesses below rank 60 only, in order to help them out. There are many witnesses who do good work for the chain, but they have so much support, while others could use more support as they don't get much. Some witnesses have stopped their servers, or have risen in the witness list. So I changed my votes to remove dead witnesses and those who have climbed above position 60.

If you look at my SteemD.com, SteemDB.com or SteemWorld.org data, you will see who I removed and added votes for.

If you like what I do, or what I post about to try to help change the world for the better, then please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness.


Thank you for your support. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your support - just climb above 60.... :) and :(

You're welcome, lucky you :)

I wish more witnesses were doing what you do, I appreciate your decision to support witnesses below position 60 that currently lose money to run a server. That's why you have my vote

Thanks for the support :) Yes, it would be good to help the less fortunate more ;)

TY for all the support to date.

Cheers.

You're welcome.

Thanks for heads up and I will looking who you are voting too :) (hopefully @helpie and @qurator are lucky to get your support)

Yup, they get a vote ;)

Awesome I saw that

Thank you for the vote 😊

You're welcome.

I find this is unfortunate and should have been avoided by the top 20 witnesses testing things better, given the resources (Steem Power) they are paid each month to have this responsibility.

Farce springs to mind!

The Resource Credit system also has issues with delegations, whereby someone who has a delegation removed will have their voting "manna"/power drop to 5% or so with their delegation gone, even if they were at 90% or so when they had the delegation.

3 Times yes 3 times I went down to 5% vote power, Then when I got to 92%
last night, and almost able to vote again, for the first time this week, a delegation ended taking me down to 82%, to say this shit show was unpleasant is a understatement.

That sucks :/ I wish they considered the existing user base more before implementing these wild changes...

Oh it was much worse than that, the arrogant bunch that are here were making articles stating how refreshing it was that nobody could comment or make articles, such is "their" contempt for anyone with low sp.

I'm starting to think I'm ready take the next step and learn this process. I have a long way to go and tons of study to do but I'm beginning to wrap my head around this.
I don't think I can help much with just a laptop but a plan to get some dedicated computers is starting to formulate.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well it costs like $100/month, and if you're not high enough up in the list, well you're in the red :/

It's probably going to be a while yet then...

Thank for up date. Will check your witness selections. :-)

Thanks for the support, @krnel. That definitely helps a lot! I also stand in agreement with expectations of the top 20 witnesses. It's a big responsibility that comes with the duty of ensuring no releases are voted on without proper testing.

Hi @krnel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 7.387 which ranks you at #57 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 298 contributions, your post is ranked at #5.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84